Election results at a glance: A rundown of key races in Beaufort County and statewide

This story was updated at 9:20 a.m. Wednesday.

The 2018 midterm elections brought huge crowds to Beaufort County precincts on Tuesday.

Election officials reported 71,058 ballots cast among 121,600 registered voters for a total turnout of 58.44 percent in the county.

There were a number of local positions on the ballot, including at least seven open spots on the Beaufort County School District’s board, six candidates for Hilton Head mayor and positions on Beaufort County’s and Hilton Head’s council.

Read Next

There were also two Beaufort County districts where four candidates were battling for seats in the S.C. House of Representatives.

Here are the unofficial results as of 8 a.m. Wednesday, with 100 percent of precincts reporting.

Beaufort County

  • Beaufort County School District — Three of the four incumbents were defeated. Incumbent David Striebinger won in District 2. In other races, William Smith won in District 3, Tricia Fidrych in District 4, Richard Geier in District 5, Rachel Wisnefski in District 7, Cathy Robine in District 8 and Melvin Campbell in District 10.
  • Beaufort County Council — There were seven seats up for grabs, but four seats featured unopposed candidates. Republicans Chris Hervochon, Mark Lawson and Lawrence McElynn won their contested races.
  • Other Beaufort County races — Kenneth Fulp prevailed in a race for probate judge. Sheriff P.J. Tanner, Auditor Jim Beckert and Treasurer Maria Walls were unopposed.

Hilton Head


  • Governor — Republican Gov. Henry McMaster was the winner over challenger state Rep. James Smith

  • District 1 Congress — Political newcomer Joe Cunningham, a Democrat, upset Republican state Rep. Katie Arrington in a close race.
  • District 6 Congress — Incumbent Democrat James Clyburn defeated challenger Republican Gerhard Gressmann.
  • Secretary of State — Republican Mark Hammond won.
  • State Treasurer — Republican Curtis Loftis won.
  • Attorney general — Republican Alan Wilson won.
  • Commissioner of Agriculture — Republican Hugh Weathers won.
  • Other statewide races — Comptroller General Richard Eckstrom and State Superintendent of Education Molly Mitchell Spearman were unopposed.

Local referenda

Unofficial results show that both the land conservation referendum and the “penny tax” for transportation improvements were approved by Beaufort County voters.

Constitutional amendment

Voters statewide rejected a constitutional amendment that would have granted the governor power to appoint the superintendent of education.