High School Sports

Whale Branch's Pinckney, Hilton Head's Maddox named to SC Shrine Bowl team

Whale Branch defensive lineman Nyles Pinckney takes a breather Oct. 31, 2014 against Battery Creek high school.
Whale Branch defensive lineman Nyles Pinckney takes a breather Oct. 31, 2014 against Battery Creek high school. The Island Packet

Whale Branch defensive lineman Nyles Pinckney and Hilton Head Island linebacker Jeremiah Maddox have been selected to the 2015 Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas.

Pinckney, who committed to Clemson in August, was the 2014 Island Packet/Beaufort Gazette Defensive Player of the Year and the Warriors' first Shrine Bowl selection.

A consensus top-five recruit in the state of South Carolina, Pinckney has an injured MCL in his knee and is expected to miss four to six weeks. He may return in time for the postseason.

Maddox has 24 tackles, including three for loss, two pass break ups and an interception. He is committed to play for Marshall.

"I'm extremely proud for having another player reach the game," Seahawks head coach B.J. Payne said. "He is a long, versatile player who can play about five positions on defense.

"He's a great student, as well, who's plan is to graduate early and get to Marshall early to get started.

The Shrine Bowl, to be held at 1 p.m. Dec. 19 at Spartanburg's Gibbs Stadium, is the oldest high school football all-star game in the nation. The game pits South Carolina's senior all-stars against those of North Carolina and benefits the Greenville Unit Shriners Hospital for Children, as well as the 21 other Shriners Hospitals for Children across the nation.

Tickets, which go on sale Oct. 20, can be purchased for $15 in advance at any Academy Sports and Outdoors store in North or South Carolina or via the Shrine Bowl ticket site at http://bit.ly/1j9kzZc. Admission will be $20 at the gate.

Details: www.shrine-bowl.com


Area Shrine Bowl selections since 1968

2015: LB Jeremiah Maddox, Hilton Head Island; DL Nyles Pinckney, Whale Branch

2013: DL K.J. Ford, Bluffton; DL Poona Ford, Hilton Head Island

2012: QB Michael Julian, Hilton Head Island

2011: WR Eric Boyles, Bluffton; LB Michael Grant, Bluffton; DL Wesley Scott, Ridgeland

2009: LB Justin Parker, Beaufort

2008: DB Jimmy Legree, Beaufort

2007: LB Brandon Mattis, Beaufort; LB Devin Taylor, Beaufort

2003: WR Tremel Kline, Battery Creek

2002: WR Eddie Cohen, Hilton Head Island

2001: LB Antonio Williams, Battery Creek

1999: LB Greg Jones, Battery Creek, OL Daniel Utley, Hilton Head Island

1998: P Chris Telep, Hilton Head Island

1987: LB Wayne Simmons, Hilton Head Island

1985: Stacy Fields, Beaufort; Bill Foster, Beaufort

1983: B Zeke Gadson, Beaufort, C Scott Dennis, Beaufort

1977: G Robert Broome, McCracken


Complete 2015 rosters

South Carolina

North Carolina