High School Sports

Two Hilton Head Island football players picked for Shrine Bowl

Hilton Head senior Cole Demarzo committed to Michigan State on Sunday, Aug. 11, 2019.
Hilton Head senior Cole Demarzo committed to Michigan State on Sunday, Aug. 11, 2019. 247Sports Photo

Two Hilton Head football players were selected to the 2019 Shrine Bowl.

Rosters for the game, to be held Dec. 21 at Wofford College, were released Sunday.

HHI safety Cole Demarzo and cornerback Christian Miller were picked for the game. Demarzo is the 23rd ranked player in the state according to 247Sports and committed to Michigan State.

Miller is 31st ranked player in the state and has several Division I offers.

“Outstanding honor for us as a school and football program,” Hilton Head coach BJ Payne said. “Two highly talented players who also lead and excel in the classroom and community. Second time in three years that we have two players selected. Very fortunate to coach incredible young men.”

Five South Carolina commits and one Clemson commit also were picked for the game. The future Gamecocks picked for the game are Myrtle Beach’s Luke Doty, Calhoun County’s Tyshawn Wannamaker, Sumter’s O’Donnell Fortune, Abbeville’s Trai Jones and Conway’s Tonka Hemingway.

Daniel’s Tyler Venables also was picked for the game for SC squad.. Venables is committed to Clemson and is the son of Tiger defensive coordinator Brent Venables. Clemson commit Mitchell Mayes, an offensive lineman from Leesville Road High School was picked for NC team.

SC Shrine Bowl Roster

Justin Abraham, LB, Hartsville; Rontarius Aldridge, DL, South Pointe; Henry Bishop, K, Spartanburg; Will Blackston, TE, Belton Honea Path; Will Boggs, OL, York; Ger-Cari Caldwell, WR, Northwestern; Parker Clements, OL, Lugoff-Elgin; Jalen Coit, WR, Cheraw; Mikele Colasurdo, QB, Chapman; Tylee Craft, WR, Sumter; Cole DeMarzo, DB, Hilton Head Island; Luke Doty, QB, Myrtle Beach; Tylik Edwards, CB, Rock Hill; Khalil Edwards, TE, York; Quay Evans, DL, Chester; O’Donnell Fortune, DB, Sumter; Darin Goss, OL, Carolina Forest; Kevon Haigler, LB, Hartsville; Demetric Hardin, WR, Lewisville; Rahjai Harris, RB, Byrnes; Tonka Hemingway, DL, Conway; Jalin Hyatt, WR, Dutch Fork, Trey Irby, DL, Dutch Fork; Trai Jones, OL, Abbeville; Briggs Kearse, OL, Barnwell; Ty’Quan King, LB, Dillon; Jaylin Lane, WR, Clover; JeMari Littlejohn, LB, Gaffney; Buddy Mack, LB, Byrnes; Nathan Mahaffey, RB, Nation Ford; Duane Martin, LB, Laurens; Xavier McIver, DL, Cheraw; Adam McKanna, OL, Summerville; Christian Miller, DB, Hilton Head Island, DB, Andru Phillips, DB, Mauldin, Jahlyn Shuler, LB, Abbeville; Quamil Spells, DE, Myrtle Beach; Nick Taiste, OL, White Knoll; Jalen Tate, DB, Greenville; Tyler Venables, DB, Daniel; Braden Walker, RB, River Bluff; Tyshawn Wannamaker, OL, Calhoun County; Darryl Ware, LB, Fort Dorchester; De’Shawn Watson, LB, Barnwell

NC Shrine Bowl Roster

Jonathan Adomo, OL, Rolesville; Adam Akins, Southeast Guilford; Jefferson Boaz,QB, East Surry; Devan Boykin, DB, Ragsdale; Jakai Brevard, LB, South Durham; Elijah Burnette, DB, Eastern Alamance; Elijah Burns, RB, Mountain Island Charter; Trey Byers, DB, Ashbrook; Chance Carroll, C, Hough; Anthony Carter, OL, Butler; Roe Chitwood, LB, Myers Park; Will Cob, C, Weddington; Ja’Quirious Conley, DB, Northside Jacksonville; Quinton Cooley, RB, Southern Nash; Grant Copeland C, West Forsyth; Cameron Dalrymple, DB, Wallace-Rose; Nick Dobson, LB, Wallace-Rose; Desmond Evans, DL, Lee County; Maliek Faust, DB, Harding; Tavien Ford, G, Olympic; Taurienne Freeman, LB, Westover; Cedric Gray WR, Audrey Kell; Ray Griet, WR, South Point; Johnny Hassard, OL, West Rowan; Maquel Haywood, RB, Wake Forest; Joshua Karty, K, Western Alamance; Jonathan King, OL, Southern Guilford; Ahmani Marshall, RB, East Forsyth; Mitchell Mayes OL, Leesville Road; J’Vian McCray, DL West Brunswick; Malik McGowen, OL, Charlotte Catholic; Alec Mock, LB, Weddington; Chris Morgan, LB, Maiden; Darius Ocean, QB, Hough; Javondre Paige, QB, Page; Jhari Patterson, WR, AC Reynolds; Stephen Sings DL, Vance; Chance Smith DB, Northeastern; Da’Qon Stewart, WR, North Mecklenburg; Stefon Thompson, LB, Vance; Davin Vann, DL, Cary; Shane Whitter, LB, Walter Williams; G’Mone Wilson, WR, West Forsyth