Dixie Youth Baseball Roundup, June 25

O-Zone District 8 tournament: Hilton Head beat Beaufort 4-1 in the opening game at Burton Wells Park.

J.J. Richardson was the winning pitcher for Hilton Head and struck out six. Nate Deas was 2 for 2 for Hilton Head, while Cole Demarzo, Harrison Green, Tyler Kriney and Will Brogan also had hits.

Bluffton plays Beaufort on Wednesday at 6 p.m. at Burton Wells in the double-elimination tournament. Hilton Head plays Bluffton on Thursday at 6 p.m. The championship will be played Friday at 6 p.m. at Burton Wells.

Minors District 8 tournament: Hilton Head defeated Jasper 19-0 in three innings in Walterboro.

In other games, Beaufort East beat Bluffton American, Beaufort American beat Bluffton National and Walterboro beat Hampton.

AA District 8 championship: Hampton defeated Hilton Head twice on June 17 to win the Dixie Youth AA District 8 championship at Crossings Park on Hilton Head Island.

Both teams advanced to the state tournament, which begins June 27 in Florence. Hampton won 9-8 and 19-16.

For Hilton Head, Thomas Moore and Jackson Rohr had five hits each in the two games.