Recreation Briefs, Nov. 21


The Beaufort County United, an under-16 soccer club based in Bluffton, won the 2010 Publix President's Medal Cup on Wednesday in dramatic fashion in Mount Pleasant.

The Riptide defeated Myrtle Beach United 2-1 in penalty kicks. Beaufort County keeper Brian Ludewig buried the game-winner for the Riptide. The two teams were knotted at three penalty kicks each before Ludewig's deciding blast, which found the lower left corner of the net.

The Riptide played a short regular season before competing in the Cup, which featured 10 teams from throughout South Carolina. Beaufort County survived four games, with three wins and a tie.

Coach Daniel Waymont's team, which is competing today in a Savannah showcase, practiced during the season at an RV park in Bluffton. Team manager John Binner said fields were available on Hilton Head Island but would have been too far for those traveling from Beaufort.

He said scheduling conflicts with Beaufort County Parks and Leisure Services kept the club from using its fields.


The 2010 USTA Southern Super Seniors Section Championships will be played on Hilton Head Island from Dec. 3-5, with Van Der Meer Shipyard Racquet Club serving as the tournament's headquarters.

With their strong play at the state tournament in Charleston earlier this month, Hilton Head Island and the Coastal Carolina Tennis Association (CCTA) will be well-represented at the sectional event.

Hilton Head Island captured six championships in Charleston at Wild Dunes Resort. In the super seniors 60s, Country Club of Hilton Head Aces (captained by Ivan Bennett) won the men's 3.0, and Port Royal (Dave Parlington) won the men's 4.0.

In the super senior 70s, Sea Pines Country Club (Mary Dempsey) won the women's 3.0, Port Royal Senior Senoritas (Chris Iulo) took the women's 4.0, and Indigo Run (Paul Williams) was the men's 4.0 winner. Fiddlers Cove USTA B4s (Bob Costantino) took second in the men's 3.0 and will advance as a wild-card team.

In the super senior 75s, Indigo Run Flyers (Bob Pentz) was the champion in the men's 3.5.

CCTA came home with two championships -- the Sun City Racquettes (Ruby Murray) won the women's 3.0 division in super senior 60s and the Sun City Spoilers (Dale Trimpe) won the men's 3.0 in super senior 75s. The Sun City Baseliners (Frank Frankel), with a second place finish in the men's 3.0 60s, will attend the sectional tournament at Van Der Meer as a wild card team.