High School Sports

Gilman, Hilton Head cross country teams claim state 3-A championships



Hilton Head Island's Ben Gilman won the Class 3-A boys cross country championship Saturday, Nov. 7 in Columbia.
Hilton Head Island's Ben Gilman won the Class 3-A boys cross country championship Saturday, Nov. 7 in Columbia. Hilton Head Island High School Athletics

Hilton Head Island's Ben Gilman won the boys individual Class 3-A state championship, while the Seahawks boys and girls teams repeated as state champs at the S.C. High School League state championships on Saturday at the Sandhills Research Center in Columbia.

It's the sixth title in eight years for both the boys and girls.

Hilton Head sophomore Mallory Liggett came in second in the girls race.

“It was a pretty dominating performance,” Hilton Head Island head coach Bill Wrightson said. “But (for the boys) to have seven runners in the top eight, I can’t say that’s something I expected. I mean, that’s five points away from a perfect score.”

Gilman, a junior, streaked to the championship after finishing second last season to Daniel’s Jacob Slann.

“He took the lead pretty much from the start,” Wrightson said. “It was never really close.”

Meanwhile, on the girls side, Liggett, who won the school’s first girls individual title last season, came up just short this time, finishing four seconds behind Daniel’s Mari Cagle Lockhart.

“She was this close to running down the girl that won,” Wrightson said.

The Seahawks girls exceeded expectations.

“Our predictions, based on previous times,” Wrightson said, “we did much better than expected.”

Though championships were no surprise given recent history, the Hilton Head coach was impressed with the performance of his team on a day that was particularly humid.

The Beaufort girls finished in 20th place with 540 points. The Eagles’ top runner was Taylor Maddox, who finished 71st in 22:11.

Hilton Head Island boys: 1. Ben Gilman, 16:02; 2. Danny  Shaughnessy, 16:06; 4. Sam Gilman, 16:11; 5. Sam Beattie, 16:13; 6. Nahuel Coronel, 16:28; 7. Ryan Moosebrugger, 16:28; 8. Jack Beattie, 16:34.

Hilton Head Island girls: 2. Mallory Liggett, 19:40; 3. Miyah Shatz, 19:00; 8. Abbigale Gross, 19:33; 10. Carley McGlinn, 19:35; 12. Sarah Cooke, 19:40; 20. Emmy Todd, 20:10; 26. Esther Anderson, 20:32

Class 4-A

The Bluffton boys finished 19th with 443 points. Wando was the winner with 71 points. The top Bluffton boy was Nathan Lessard, 70th in 17:30.

The Bluffton girls finished eighth with 229 points. Riverside was the winner with 20 points. The top Bluffton girl was Madison Lewellen. She finished 12th with a time of 19:32.

Class 2-A

The Battery Creek boys did not have a team score. Dietrich Heinz was the Dolphins’ top runner, finishing 88th in 19:40

The Whale Branch boys did not have a team score, but  Wesley Murphy was 40th in 18:23.

The Whale Branch girls finished 21st with 579 points, led by Kourtney Matt, who finished 70th in 23:33.