RBC Heritage

Singh, Gainey, Appleby and Allenby commit to RBC Heritage

Four more PGA Tour golfers have committed to the RBC Heritage Presented by Boeing.

Vijay Singh, Tommy Gainey, Stuart Appleby and Robert Allenby will play in the 45th annual event, scheduled for April 15 to 21 at Harbour Town Golf Links on Hilton Head Island.

Singh has 34 wins on the PGA Tour including the 2000 Masters. The Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., resident, who has earned more than $67 million during his three decades playing professional golf, ranks third in career earnings on the PGA Tour.

Singh, Fiji's only world-class golfer, has not competed at Harbour Town since 2001.

Gainey is a South Carolina native who gained notoriety when he won the Golf Channel's Big Break VII. He has earned the nickname "Two Gloves" for wearing two golf gloves when he plays.

He won his first event on the PGA TOUR at the 2012 McGladrey Classic. The Camden resident will be making his fifth start at the RBC Heritage, where he earned a third-place finish in 2011.

Appleby has earned nine PGA Tour victories and earned a spot in this year's RBC Heritage thanks to a career money exemption. The native of Melbourne, Australia has competed at Harbour Town six times.

Allenby, who is also from Melbourne, Australia and still calls the city home, is eligible to play in the RBC Heritage this year because he was a member of the 2011 International President's Cup Team. He has won four times on the PGA TOUR and is making his 10th start at Harbour Town.

The RBC Heritage is the only PGA Tour event in South Carolina and has been played at the Harbour Town Golf Links since 1969.

The Heritage Classic Foundation, the general tournament sponsor, distributes the proceeds from the tournament to hundreds of nonprofit organizations. Since it was founded as a 501 (c)(3) in 1987, the Foundation has donated more than $23.5 million to people in need.

Tickets: Daily tickets and weeklong badges for this year's tournament are now on sale online at www.rbcheritage.com or by calling the tournament office at 843-671-2448.


The field, so far, for the 45th annual RBC Heritage, held April 15 to 21 at Hilton Head Island's Harbour Town Golf Links (*denotes former champion):

Robert Allenby

Stephen Ames

Stuart Appleby

K.J Choi

Jonathan Byrd

Stewart Cink*

Nicolas Colsaerts

Glen Day*

Graham DeLaet

Luke Donald

Ernie Els

Jim Furyk*

Tommy Gainey

Lucas Glover

Luke Guthrie

Bill Haas

David Hearn

Charles Howell III

Martin Kaymer

Matt Kuchar

Justin Leonard*

David Lynn

Graeme McDowell

Daniel Nesbit

Carl Pettersson*

Rory Sabbatini

Webb Simpson

Vijay Singh

Brandt Snedeker*

Kyle Stanley

Kevin Streelman

Michael Thompson

Carmilo Villegas

Boo Weekley*

Mike Weir