RBC Heritage

Haas, Simpson, Streelman commit to RBC Heritage

Three American golfers who are no strangers to the leaderboard have committed to the RBC Heritage.

Bill Haas, Webb Simpson and Kevin Streelman will be playing in the 45th annual event, taking place April 15-21, 2013 over the famed Harbour Town Golf Links on Hilton Head Island.

Haas, the 2002 Players Amateur champion, has earned four PGA Tour victories and was the 2011 FedExCup winner. The Greenville resident has cracked the top 10 three times this year.

Like his father Jay, Bill Haas is making the RBC Heritage a tradition. He hasn’t missed the Harbour Town event since finishing Q-school in 2005. Jay Haas competed at The Heritage for 30 years before moving onto the Champions Tour.

Simpson, who was born in Raleigh and calls Charlotte, N.C. home, has three wins on the PGA Tour, including last year’s US Open where he beat Graeme McDowell and Michael Thompson by one shot after carding a final-round 68. The Wake Forest alum will be making his fourth appearance at Harbour Town.

Streelman is still enjoying his first PGA Tour win at last week’s Tampa Bay Championship. Earlier in the year, he tied for 10th at the Humana Challenge. The Illinois native graduated from Duke in 2001 and joined the PGA Tour in 2008. He will be competing in the RBC Heritage for the fifth time.

The RBC Heritage is the only PGA Tour event in South Carolina and has been played at the Harbour Town Golf Links since 1969.

The Heritage Classic Foundation, the general tournament sponsor, distributes the proceeds from the tournament to hundreds of nonprofit organizations. Since it was founded as a 501 (c)(3) in 1987, the Foundation has donated more than $23.5 million to people in need.

Tickets: Daily tickets and weeklong badges for this year's tournament are now on sale online at www.rbcheritage.com or by calling the tournament office at 843-671-2448.


The field, so far, for the 45th annual RBC Heritage, held April 15-21 at Hilton Head Island's Harbour Town Golf Links (*denotes former champion):

Stephen Ames

K.J Choi

Jonathan Byrd

Stewart Cink*

Nicolas Colsaerts

Glen Day*

Graham DeLaet

Luke Donald

Ernie Els

Jim Furyk*

Lucas Glover

Luke Guthrie

Bill Haas

David Hearn

Charles Howell III

Martin Kaymer

Matt Kuchar

Justin Leonard*

David Lynn

Graeme McDowell

Daniel Nesbit

Carl Pettersson*

Rory Sabbatini

Webb Simpson

Brandt Snedeker*

Kyle Stanley

Kevin Streelman

Michael Thompson

Carmilo Villegas

Boo Weekley*

Mike Weir