Golf Notebook, June 26: Bluffton's Buchanan 2nd at WSCGA Match Play

Bluffton's Sammie Buchanan
Bluffton's Sammie Buchanan Submitted Photo

Bluffton's Sammie Buchanan came close but could not unseat the champion.

Greenville's Dawn Woodard won her fifth consecutive Women's S.C. Golf Association Match Play Championship title June 20 at Woodside Plantation, defeating Buchanan 2 and 1 in the final.

Buchanan, a former Bluffton High School golfer, recently completed her sophomore season on the UNC Greensboro golf team. She defeated Lea Anne Brown 1 up and Lea Venable 2 up before falling to the former Furman golfer, who won her opening matches 4 and 3 and 6 and 4.

In Flight 5, Bluffton's Marsha Murphy fell 3 and 1 to Connie Liley in the final. Murphy, from Colleton River Plantation, won her quarterfinal match 7 and 5 and then needed 22 holes win the semifinal against Toni Buerkert.


Okatie's Rick Thrasher and Pat Libro finished second in the championship flight of the senior division of the S.C. Golf Association's Lefty Righty Championship on June 21-22.

Thrasher and Libro shot best-ball rounds of 70-70 for a 140 total to finish three shots behind Jon Evans and Rick Dressel.

The SCGA Lefty Righty / Lefthanders Championship is one of 20 major championships conducted by the South Carolina Golf Association. The 38th Annual event was played on the 6,375 yard, par 72 golf course at Lake Marion Golf Club.


Hilton Head Island's Jeffrey Hedden shot 70 on Tuesday at Florence Country Club and is a second alternate for the U.S. Senior Open.

The U.S. Golf Association event will be held Juy 10-13 at Oak Tree National in Edmond, Okla.

Jim Ragland and Jerry Haas each shot 68 to earn the two qualifying spots from Florence.


Mark Anderson and Jeff Pinckney won the first flight of the Beaufort Water Festival Golf Tournament, held June 21 and 22 on Fripp Island's Ocean Point and Ocean Creek courses.

Brent Cooper and Randy Glover won the second flight, and Darry Lucas and Robert Senn won the third flight.

First Flight: 1. Jeff Pinckney and Mark Anderson, 2. Reed Weatherford and Patrick Mitchell, 3. Josh Landers and James Emerson. Second Flight: 1. Brent Cooper and Randy Glover, 2. Lawrence Anderson and Steve Merrick, 3. Corey Johnson and TK Dunlap. Third Flight: 1. Darryl Lucas and Robert Senn, 2. Kyle Farnsworth and Steve Wilson, 3. Jim Denton and Sean Bohannon