Chattanooga women rally to win Southern Conference golf title at Moss Creek

Europe's Jodi Ewart Shadoff from England hits from a green side trap on the 16th hole during a foursome match in  the Solheim Cup golf tournament, Friday, Aug. 16, 2013, in Parker, Colo. (AP Photo/Ed Andrieski)
Europe's Jodi Ewart Shadoff from England hits from a green side trap on the 16th hole during a foursome match in the Solheim Cup golf tournament, Friday, Aug. 16, 2013, in Parker, Colo. (AP Photo/Ed Andrieski) File -- The Associated Press

Chattanooga completed its climb up the leaderboard at the Southern Conference Women's Golf Championship on Tuesday, firing a 308 to overtake Furman and claim its fifth straight title at Moss Creek Golf Club's North Course.

The Mocs claimed the SoCon's automatic berth to the NCAA regionals and will learn their postseason destination on April 28 (9 p.m. on

The Mocs' Emily McLennan battled through the rain to claim individual medalist honors, giving Chattanooga its fourth different individual champion in as many years.

Chattanooga, which trailed Furman by seven strokes after day one but closed the gap to a single stroke on Monday, overcame the soggy conditions Tuesday to claim a five-stroke victory over the Paladins. Chattanooga finished with a team score of 915 (312-295-308), while Furman posted its second straight runner-up finish at 920 (305-301-314).

McLennan had Tuesday's low round at 2-over-par 74 to complete the wire-to-wire win. She turned in a three-day total of 6-over 222, four better than Furman's Taylor Totland (76-74-76--226), who was named the SoCon Freshman of the Year at the conclusion of the event.

Jordan Britt, the 2012 SoCon medalist, finished third at 229 (80-69-80) and was named the SoCon Player of the Year.

The Mocs' Isabella Loza shot a 4-over 76 Tuesday to vault from a tie for 17th into a tie for sixth at 232 (80-76-76), while Agathe Sauzon, the 2013 medalist, finished in a tie for 10th at 234 (79-75-80) to give the Mocs four finishers in the top 10.

Furman also had four golfers in the top 10, as Aubrie Street tied for sixth at 232 (76-77-79), Stephanie Carlozzi finished ninth at 233 (78-77-78) and Valentina Romero was another stroke back at 234 (75-78-81) in a tie with Sauzon for 10th.

Samford's Alex Jasper (76-76-79--231) and Western Carolina's Mariah Hopkins (82-73-76--231) tied for fourth, and Elon's Kelsey Badmaev (83-71-78--232) tied for sixth.

Samford turned in its best-ever SoCon finish, wrapping up in third place at 936, while Elon finished fourth at 945. Western Carolina (955), Wofford (956), Appalachian State (990), UNC Greensboro (995) and The Citadel (998) completed the team standings.

UTC's Britt, McLennan and Sauzon, Furman's Romero and Totland, Elon's Badmaev and Sunna Vidisdottir, Samford's Bailey Gray, Western Carolina's Kristin Swindell and Wofford's Lauren Dunbar earned All-Southern Conference honors.

Samford's Sydney Needham, Western Carolina's Olivia Landino and Wofford's Katy Funk joined Totland and Badmaev on the SoCon All-Freshman Team.

Chattanooga's Colette Murray was named the SoCon Coach of the Year for the second straight year and fourth time in the last five.

2014 Southern Conference Women's Golf Championship

Moss Creek Golf Club, North Course, Hilton Head Island, S.C.; Par 72; 5,941 yards

Top 10 individuals

1. Emily McLennan, Chattanooga 73-75-74--222

2. Taylor Totland, Furman 76-74-76--226

3. Jordan Britt, Chattanooga 80-69-80--229

T4. Alex Jasper, Samford 76-76-79--231

T4. Mariah Hopkins, Western Carolina 82-73-76--231

T6. Isabella Loza, Chattanooga 80-76-76--232

T6. Aubrie Street, Furman 76-77-79--232

T6. Kelsey Badmaev, Elon 83-71-78--232

9. Stephanie Carlozzi, Furman 78-77-78--233

T10. Valentina Romero, Furman 75-78-81--234

T10. Agathe Sauzon, Chattanooga 79-75-80--234

Final team standings

1. Chattanooga 312-295-308--915

2. Furman 305-301-314--920

3. Samford 312-309-315--936

4. Elon 318-302-325--945

5. Western Carolina 325-300-330--955

6. Wofford 326-315-315--956

7. Appalachian State 331-313-346--990

8. UNCG 337-319-339--995

9. The Citadel 324-347--998

Player of the Year

Jordan Britt, Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year

Taylor Totland, Furman

Coach of the Year

Colette Murray, Chattanooga

All-Southern Conference Team

Kelsey Badmaev, Elon

Sunna Vidisdottir, Elon

Valentina Romero, Furman

Taylor Totland, Furman

Bailey Gray, Samford

Jordan Britt, Chattanooga

Emily McLennan, Chattanooga

Agathe Sauzon, Chattanooga

Kristin Swindell, Western Carolina

Lauren Dunbar, Wofford

All-Freshman Team

Kelsey Badmaev, Elon

Taylor Totland, Furman

Sydney Needham, Samford

Olivia Landino, Western Carolina

Katy Funk, Wofford