USC Beaufort

Four USC Beaufort players earn spots on All-Sun Conference Softball Team

Four members of the USC Beaufort softball team were among the 18 players named to the All-Sun Conference Team on Friday at a banquet being held in conjunction with the conference tournament at the National Training Center softball complex in Clermont, Fla.

Sophomores Melanie Goolsby and Katie Rietkovich, and freshmen Kristy Cook and Shelby Zipperer earned spots on the team for USCB, which finished the regular season with a 35-9 record and earned the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament that began Friday.

Rietkovich, a second baseman, was one of the league's top hitters all season, batting .451 in the regular season and leading the Sand Sharks in home runs (9), runs (59) and RBIs (56). She also had 18 stolen bases in 20 attempts. Rietkovich hit a three-run homer in Friday's 8-0 win over Northwood in the tournament opener.

Goolsby, USCB's right fielder, hit .396 with 10 extra-base hits and 24 RBIs. She scored 38 runs and had 19 stolen bases in 20 attempts.

Zipperer, the Sand Sharks' center fielder, was one of the team's most consistent hitters, batting .405 with a team-high 14 doubles, two triples and three home runs. She drove in 34 runs and scored 38 while stealing 13 bases.

Cook was USCB's ace all season, throwing five no-hitters -- two of them perfect games -- while going 18-4 with a 1.60 ERA in 24 starts in the regular season. She threw a no-hitter against Wesleyan College in USCB's first-ever game and closed the regular season with a perfect game against Edward Waters. Cook struck out 144 batters and walked 32 in 140 1-3 innings. She narrowly missed another no-hitter Friday, shutting out Northwood on one hit, a single in the fifth inning.

The Sand Sharks continue the conference tournament at 11:30 a.m. today against No. 3 seed SCAD Savannah. The double-elimination event continues through Sunday.

2012 All-Sun Conference Softball Team

Player of the Year: Jessaca Spears, SCAD Savannah

Pitcher of the Year: Ashley Quigley, Webber International

Champions of Character Award: SCAD Savannah Softball Team

Coach of the Year: Terri Knecht, SCAD Savannah

C - Nirana Singh, SCAD Savannah

C - Danielle Fennimore, Warner

C - Cheyenne Benson, Ave Maria

INF - Jessaca Spears, SCAD Savannah

INF - Tabatha Martin, Warner

INF - Katie Rietkovich, USCB

INF - Jessica Lanci, Webber International

INF - Maureen Sandidge, Webber International

INF - Carissa Albizu, St. Thomas

OF - Kylie Rash, SCAD Savannah

OF - Laura Lovell, Warner

OF - Shelby Zipperer, USCB

OF - Melanie Goolsby, USCB

P - Ashlee Quigley, Webber International

P - Sydnee Schorr, SCAD Savannah

P - Kristy Cook, USCB

P - Kiana Levy, Webber International

UT - Olivia Kline, SCAD Savannah