USC Beaufort

Sand Sharks land 4 players on all-conference teams

Three USC Beaufort baseball players were named to the first team and another to the second team when the Sun Conference announced its all-conference baseball team Monday.

First baseman Spencer Jackson, outfielder Ty Main and pitcher Dexter Price represent the Sand Sharks on the first team, and third baseman David O'Neil made the second team.

Jackson led all of USCB's regular starter with a .390 batting average in the regular season, and he drove in a team-high 48 runs. He also led the team with 13 doubles.

Main hit .345 with 10 doubles, a home run and 18 RBIs. He also scored 38 runs and stole four bases.

Price went 6-3 with a 2.47 ERA in 11 starts, including two complete games and one shutout. He struck out 49 and walked 18 in 73 innings and held opponents to a .216 average.

O'Neil hit .346 with nine doubles and 18 RBIs and scored a team-high 41 runs. He also stole five bases and led the team with nine sacrifice bunts.

Regular-season champion Embry-Riddle, the No. 1 team in the most recent NAIA coaches poll, swept the superlative honors. Tucker Jensen was named pitcher of the year, third baseman Steve Sabins was picked as player of the year, and Randy Stegall was the coach of the year.

Related stories from Hilton Head Island Packet