College Sports

South Carolina, Clemson commits and Dutch Fork’s Hyatt among Mr. Football finalists

South Carolina football commit Luke Doty is among the seven finalists for this year’s South Carolina Mr. Football award.

The announcement was made on the Sports Talk radio show on Wednesday night.

The other finalists are Dutch Fork receiver Jalin Hyatt, Saluda’ quarterback Noah Bell, Chapman auarterback Mikele Colasurdo, Byrnes’ running back Rahjai Harris, Laurens running back Duane Martin and Daniel’s Tyler Venables, a Clemson commit who plays quarterback and on defense.

The Mr. Football winner will be announced at halftime of the Touchstone Energy North-South game Dec. 14. Mr. Football is an honor given to the top public school high school football player in the state and based on performance on and off the field.

Doty is a four-star prospect and ranked by 247Sports as the No. 2 player in the state. He has thrown for 1,076 yards and rushed for 245 yards and 16 total touchdowns this season.

Hyatt is a Tennessee commit and holds several Dutch Fork records. This season, he has 30 catches for 631 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Hyatt has a school record 43 receiving touchdowns and is closing in 3,000 yards receiving in his career.

Venables is the son of Clemson defensive coordinator Brent Venables. Tyler Venables has almost 1,600 yards of total offense and 19 total touchdowns this year for Daniel.

Bell has 1,347 yards passing and 24 total touchdowns for Saluda this year. Harris has 731 yards rushing and 12 total TDs this year for Byrnes. Both Harris and Martin are East Carolina commits.

Dakereon Joyner and Zacch Pickens, the last two Mr. Football winners, were South Carolina commits. Dutch Fork’s Matthew Colburn is the last Midlands player named Mr. Football, which he won in 2014.

Lou Bezjak is the High School Sports Prep Coordinator for The State and Island Packet. He has covered high school sports in South Carolina for 16 years and is a two-time South Carolina Sports Writer of the Year by the National Sports Media Association.