Chechessee Senior Invitational starts today

Some of the best senior golfers from throughout the country will be in Okatie today for the second Chechessee Creek Club Senior Invitational.

Sixty-three players will compete in the 54-hole stroke play event, which concludes Tuesday. The tournament will be split into two divisions -- a senior division, for those 55 and older, and a super senior division, for those 65 and up. Franklin Newell, the club's director of golf, invited all the top players from Golfweek magazine's senior rankings. The rest are here by word of mouth, from Chechessee Creek Club members who travel often for these type events.

"Most of them came back," Newell said. "So that's a testament to the golf course."

The defending champions are both back in the field. Fred Silver, from Lewiston, N.Y., won the senior division a year ago. Jay Howson, from Halvern, Pa., was the super senior champion.

Prizes include trophies and golf shop gift certificates.

The Chechessee Creek Club, designed by Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore, is a traditional layout that measures 6,606 yards from the tips. Newell said the caddies-only course is in great shape.


What: 54-hole stroke play event open to seniors (55 and older) and super seniors (65 and older)

When: Today through Tuesday

Where: Chechessee Creek Club, Okatie

Note: Spectators welcome. No admission charge.

First round pairings

No. 1

9 a.m. Don Russell, Robert Kulp

9:10 a.m. Mike Jackson, Bob Currey

9:20 a.m. Mark Baxter, John Holle, Jim Kamis

9:30 a.m. Brady Hendren, Dan Alpha, Robert Polk

9:40 a.m. Don Jeanes,Todd Kennedy, Steve Johnson

9:50 a.m. Steve Ebert, Kirk Davis, Jeff Newton

10 a.m. Jim Malone, Bruce McEwen, Bill Metzger

10:10 a.m. Tom Humphrey, Johnny Dennis, Dick Anderson

10:20 a.m. Bernie Shealy, David Carrol, Jerry Johnston

10:30 a.m. Bob Howe, Dennis Helms, Greg Scurlock

10:40 a.m. Rick Luzar, Chuck Parsons, Lex Tarumianz

No. 10

9:10 a.m. Gary Strickfaden, David King, Fred Silver

9:20 a.m. Bill Western, Jim Bianco, Mike Sorgi

9:30 a.m. Al Riegel, Eric Dollenberg, Gerry Graham

9:40 a.m. William Spadafora, Danny Dean, Tommy Thomas

9:50 a.m. David Bill, Walter Brown, Jim Deleon

10 a.m. Paul Davies, Steve Pachol, Skip Snow

10:10 a.m. John Verity, Charles McDowell, Dick Lockwood

10:20 a.m. Jay Howson, Gary Shimmin, Walt Martin

10:30 a.m. Joe Cantrell, John Casstevens, Tom Paskins

10:40 a.m. Donald Allen, Doug King, Tim McBride