Can I seek shelter at local schools, including Bluffton Middle and Okatie Elementary?

No. Beaufort County schools, including Bluffton Middle School, Okatie Elementary School, H.E. McCracken Middle School and Bluffton High School are not open or operating shelters.

Jim Foster, director of communications for the Beaufort County School District, said none of the county’s schools were being used as shelters.

According to Red Cross regional communications officer Jennifer Heisler, the shelters listed below are the only ones in the area that have been tested to withstand a Category 5 storm.

All shelters are open and accepting visitors.

Colleton County

Colleton County Middle School, 1739 Mighty Cougar Dr, Walterboro.

Hampton County

Estill High and Middle School, 1450 Columbia Hwy North, Estill.

Hampton Elementary School, 505 S Hoover Street, Hampton.

Jasper County

Ridgeland North Campus, 250 Jaguar Trail, Ridgeland.