Beaufort News

Golf teams set for Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational

A dozen teams will make landfall on Daufuskie Island today and Tuesday to take part in the fifth annual Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational at the Rees Jones Golf Course at Haig Point Club.

The event, hosted by the University of South Carolina, will feature 36 holes of play today and 18 on Tuesday.

The rest of the field features two-time defending champion Kennesaw State, Charleston Southern, East Carolina, Francis Marion, Iowa State, Liberty, Presbyterian College, Tennessee Tech, UNC Charlotte, UNC Wilmington and Winthrop.

Some of the top golfers on last year's top two teams are back this year.

Kennesaw State senior Ben Greene, the individual runner-up in 2011, will again lead the Owls. South Carolina sophomore Sean Kelly is back, as well, after finishing in third place at 220 last season to lead the Gamecocks to a second-place finish.

Kennesaw State returns three members of its winning squad from a year ago, while South Carolina returns all five members of its roster from last year.

In addition to Greene, the Owls welcome back senor Sam Curtis (T20) and sophomore Jimmy Beck (T26). In addition to Kelly, South Carolina returns senior Dykes Harbin (T7), junior Blaine Woodruff (T26), sophomore Caleb Sturgeon (T33) and senior Dean Hester (T57). Highly-touted freshman Matt NeSmith will also add firepower to the South Carolina cause.

The Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational

Today-Tuesday, Rees Jones Golf Course, Haig Point Club, Daufuskie Island

Admission and transportation: Monday tickets are $25 and include ferry transportation and hospitality admission (food and beverage). Tuesday (without hospitality) tickets are $10 each. Ferries will leave from the Haig Point Embarkation point located off the Route 278 Bypass (Palmetto Parkway) on Hilton Head Island at 7:30 a.m., 8:30 a.m., 10:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. each day.

Note: Plays tee off at 8:30 am today.