Beaufort News

Kennesaw St. takes title again at Haig Point

Iowa State's Nate McCoy ran away with the individual title, but the Cyclones were unable to hang onto their lead in the team standings, as Kennesaw State posted a tournament-best team score of 289 in the final round Tuesday to win the Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational for the second consecutive year.

Kennesaw State finished the 54-hole event at Haig Point Club with a score of 894, four shots better than host South Carolina. Iowa State, which led after the first two rounds, tied for third with Wake Forest at 900.

McCoy carded an even-par 72 in the final round to finish at 6-under-par 210, the only player to break par. Kennesaw State's Ben Greene was second at 3-over 219, and South Carolina's Sean Kelly was another shot back in third.

Kennesaw State is the second repeat champion in the tournament's brief four-year history -- South Carolina won the first two years.