Beaufort News

Local mayors take leadership positions

The mayors of Bluffton and Port Royal have been elected to the board of the new Association of S.C. Mayors.

Mayor Lisa Sulka of Bluffton and Mayor Sam Murray of Port Royal were elected to three-year terms at an organizational meeting June 17.

The mayors association was formed earlier this year by the Municipal Association of S.C. to give mayors "more opportunities to get to know one another, learn about best practices in other cities and regions, and be a stronger collective voice in advocating for cities as the economic engines of our state," Paul Miller, Orangeburg mayor and municipal association president, said in a news release.