Beaufort News

Thomas Heyward Academy honors 28 graduates

The 28 students of Thomas Heyward Academy's Class of 2011 graduated Friday in the Ridgeland school's gym.

Total amount of scholarship money earned by the graduates: $610,000

Speakers: Valedictorian and salutatorian, as well as retired U.S. Air Force Gen. Lloyd "Fig" Newton.

Valedictorian: Weslee Marion Sewell plans to study health science at Clemson University.

Salutatorian: Logan Trent Mock plans to study sports medicine at Brigham Young University.

From the principal: "The Thomas Heyward Academy Class of 2011 will be remembered for 'answering the call' when asked to serve in any capacity. Any school's first objective should be to produce good citizens, and the Class of 2011 has easily accomplished this objective." -- Headmaster John D. Rogers Jr.

Class of 2011:

Anthony Michael Arcuri III

Minda Chelsea Backus

Chad David Beaty

Ryan Wayne Benton

William Coulter Payne Bergmann

Edward Perry Burrus IV

Brooke Kelsea Draper

Amanda Paige Ervin

Jonathan Allen Saxon Goodson

Jing Jing Lin

Abby Drew Lowther

James Arthur Malphrus

Sarah Jane Malphrus

Caitlin Corinne Mathis

Garrett Andrew Mock

Logan Trent Mock

Namrata Sureshbhai Patel

Don Albert Robinson-Simmons

James Dwan Rumfelt

Gunner James Sandifer

Weslee Marion Sewell

Corey Edward Smith

Hillary Beth Smith

Nathan Wayne Smith

Alexandria Rae VanCuren

Emily Ann Webster

Robert Hogan Willis II

Nicholas Andrew Wyndham