Beaufort News

2011-12 teachers of the year list announced

School officials surprised the top teachers at each Beaufort County public school this week with balloons, flowers and chocolate.

The 2011-12 teachers of the year were selected by their peers using criteria established by the schools, the school district's Teacher Forum and the S.C. Department of Education, according to a district news release.

The school-level winners will compete for the district title in the fall. The district honor typically comes with a new BMW, courtesy of Hilton Head BMW, that the winner gets to drive for a year for free.

"This is a terrific opportunity to celebrate the unique gifts of our best of the best teacher leaders," superintendent Valerie Truesdale said in the release. "In these difficult economic times, we want to be sure our teachers know how much we appreciate their willingness to do more with less resources."

Northern Beaufort County winners are:

  • Steve Shamblen, Beaufort-Jasper Academy for Career Excellence
  • Kim Day, Battery Creek High
  • Joan Linyard, Beaufort Elementary
  • Debi Kidd, Beaufort High
  • Stephanie Luzny, Beaufort Middle
  • Jamie Allen, Broad River Elementary
  • Katherine Williams, Coosa Elementary
  • Jessica Goethie-Bacon, Lady's Island Elementary
  • Cadra Rooney, Lady's Island Middle
  • Cole Lubkin, Mossy Oaks Elementary
  • Kimberly Waters, Port Royal Elementary
  • Steve McPherson, Robert Smalls Middle
  • Julie Rast, Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary
  • Jacqueline Simmons, Shell Point Elementary
  • Karen Watts, St. Helena Elementary
  • LaToya Gilbert, Whale Branch Elementary
  • Karen Jones, Whale Branch Early College High
  • CaTia Gilbert, Whale Branch Middle
  • Southern Beaufort County winners are:

  • Amelia Middleton, Bluffton Elementary
  • Jessica Phillips, Bluffton High
  • Lois Lewis, Bluffton Middle
  • Sonia Merrick, H.E. McCracken Middle
  • Donna Fonseca, Hilton Head Island Early Childhood Center
  • Treva Kent, Hilton Head Island IB Elementary
  • Chris Gray, Hilton Head Island High
  • Maxine Chisolm, Hilton Head Island Middle
  • Jackie Wheeler, Hilton Head Island School for the Creative Arts
  • Kathleen Archer, Michael C. Riley Elementary
  • Marlayna Tracy, Okatie Elementary
  • Heather Tamminen, Pritchardville Elementary
  • Venita Barnette, Red Cedar Elementary
  •   Comments