Beaufort News

SC Rep. Bill Herbkersman wins Coastal Conservation League award

Rep. Bill Herbkersman recently received the Coastal Conservation League’s Coastal Steward of the Year Award.

Herbkersman served on the league’s Blue Ribbon Commission that included scientists, developers, attorneys and lawmakers who worked for nearly a decade to develop common-sense policies regarding development near beaches, according to a league news release.

The league also honored state Sens. Chip Campsen, John Courson and Marlon Kimpson, as well as Reps. Peter McCoy, James Smith and Kirkman Finlay.

Citizen advocates Wendy Kulick and Michael Kapp also were honored, according to the release.