Real Estate News

Hilton Head association names new board, honors top members

Members of theHilton Head AreaHome BuildersAssociation presented tophonors Dec. 11 to the organization'sBuilder of the Yearand Associate Members ofthe Year during a holidayparty Dec. 11 at the WestinHilton Head Island Resort& Spa.

Don Lee of D. Lee Builderswas named the 2010 BuilderMember of the Year for hisoutstanding dedication andcontributions to the HBA, thecommunity and the buildingindustry. Lee has been an activemember of the HBA formore than 20 years, servingmultiple terms as a memberof the board of directors. In2009 and 2010 he served asthe remodelers council chairman,where he led efforts topreserve the Hilton Head IslandGullah Museum's "LittleHouse." He will continue inthis office in 2011.

The 2010 Associate Memberof the Year award went to ParrishNeville of Palmetto ElectricCooperative. An activemember of the HBA for morethan 10 years, he served on theHBA's board as an associate directorin 2010 and will be associatevice president in 2011. Healso serves on the association'sgolf tournament committeeand programs committee.

Several other awards werepresented during the evening'sfestivities.

Randy Jeffcoat of Randy JeffcoatBuilders received thecoveted 2010 President's Awardin appreciation of his years ofcommitment and support tothe association and buildingindustry.

Additionally, Brian Espositoof Esposito Construction, andHarry Gregory of Floors by SterlingHight won HBA HammerAwards. These awards recognizemembers who do extraordinarywork behind the scenes,ensuring the success of associationprograms, events and communityservice projects.

"The association exists onlyby the strength and dedication of its members. Tonight'saward winners truly exemplifythe best of the best and theirtime and efforts are greatly appreciatedand admired," saidMike Tuten, the association'soutgoing president.

The Hilton Head Area HomeBuilders Association also hasnew leaders, after Marc Ellis,past president of the local andstate home builders associations,swore in the group's 2011board of directors and officersat the holiday gala.

The new president is SteveTilton of Tilton Group SignatureHomes. In addition toserving as an association officersince 2008, he is an alternatedirector to the NationalAssociation of Home Builders.

Vice president of administrationis Randy Jeffcoat of RandyJeffcoat Builders; vice presidentof membership is Howard Feldmanof Coastal Green BuildingSolutions; associate vicepresident is Parrish Neville ofPalmetto Electric Cooperative;secretary/treasurer is DavidGaal, Gaal Custom Homes &Remodeling.


Chartered in 1965, the Hilton Head Area Home BuildersAssociation is a nonprofit professional trade associationof professionals that promote excellence in the homebuilding industry through education, community serviceand environmental stewardship.The group includes more than 500 member companiesrepresenting residential and light commercial builders,subcontractors, suppliers and other service providersthroughout southern Beaufort County. The association alsoadministers the Hilton Head Home Builders EducationFoundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization formed tosupport and help fund continuing education efforts in thesouthern Beaufort Country region.