15 students graduate from Beaufort Academy

sbowman@beaufortgazette.comMay 24, 2014 

  • Beaufort Academy Class of 2014:

    Caroline Joy Avera

    Carli Erin Lydia Cline

    John Joseph Dailey

    Thibault S. S. Deneye

    Walker Keatley Eller Floyd

    Madeleine Benson Gray

    Autumn Elizabeth Harris

    Brandon Douglas Massalon

    Patrick Ethan Mazzeo

    Jeffrey Scott Miller Jr.

    Megan Elizabeth Potter

    Nicole Katherine Schmiege

    Courtney Irene Chizuko Smith

    Rebecca Elizabeth Strawn

    Miranda Caroline Weslake

The 15 students of Beaufort Academy's Class of 2014 graduated Saturday in a ceremony at the school on Lady's Island.

Total amount of scholarship money earned by graduates: $2,533,600

Speaker: Michael Hostilo, attorney and Beaufort Academy alumni class of 1983

Valedictorian: Rebecca Elizabeth Strawn earned a 4.631 grade point average and will attend Davidson College.

Salutatorian: Caroline Joy Avera earned a 4.613 grade point average and will attend Winthrop University.

From the principal: "This graduating class of 2014, the last in my tenure at Beaufort Academy, exemplifies all that we stand for -- all of our core values. They have displayed leadership both in the community and the school; they are respectful of others, be they teachers or fellow students; they have intellect as demonstrated by the many colleges that have accepted them and the substantial aid they have been offered; they have pride in Beaufort Academy, Beaufort, and themselves; and finally they have integrity which is a cornerstone for future success.." -- Julia Stewart Corner

Follow reporter Sarah Bowman on Twitter at twitter.com/IPBG_Sarah.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service