36 students graduate from Heritage Academy

sbowman@beaufortgazette.comMay 22, 2014 

The 36 students of Heritage Academy's Class of 2014 graduated Thursday in a ceremony at the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina on Hilton Head Island.

Total amount of scholarship money earned by graduates: School does not track this information

Speaker: Junior Kelly Whaley

Valedictorian: Sydney Nix earned a 4.38 grade point average and will attend Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla.

Salutatorian: Matthew White earned a 4.37 grade point average and will attend Auburn University and major in international business.

From the principal: "The Class of 2014 is indeed prepared. This group is akin to a unique, enduring weave of multi-ethnicity, passion, scholarship and character. As they scatter across the globe and each confidently moves on to learn, perform, and serve in pursuit of their goals, this class' combined intelligence, creativity, service, leadership and desire to act now will position us all as beneficiaries of their talents tomorrow. Each of these scholar-athletes and artists represents a strong thread in that special, richly diverse tapestry that could be woven only at Heritage Academy and that neither time nor distance can tear apart. On behalf of the school community, which spans 28 countries, I congratulate each graduate on this commencement toward a promising future. Inspired by them, we will miss the Class of 2014's academic efforts, personalities, friendships, integrity and talents." -- Gloria Shoemaker

Heritage Academy Class of 2014:

Katsuya Asano

Margaret Copeland Ashmore

Tyler Berdy

David Botti

Adam Cablik

Cameron Joseph Clair

Mary Derepentigny

Carlos Fernandez Herzog

Todd Ashley Glickfield II

Keanu Hasmana

Jiri Honajzer

Garrett Johnson

Jake Gabriel Kessel

Owen Kuchinos

Chang Ju Lee

Carolina Lewis

Christopher Magi

Matthew Mendez

Madeline Estelle Metzger

Sydney Lee Nix

Milleina Ohara

John Scott Okoniewski

Shota Ozaki

Tyler Arthur Pidduck

Ana Lizeth Ruiz Laphond

Dakota Taylor Sabados

Bria Sanders

Madison Banks Selvy

Thamonpat Siriko

Phyllis Tang Yu

Nattayatorn Techasith

Barbora Vasilkova

Diego Vega Escalante

Rebecca Terese Warth

Matthew Tanner White

Irisa Shannon Wong

Follow reporter Sarah Bowman on Twitter at twitter.com/IPBG_Sarah.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service