Beaufort County School District names top teachers

newsroom@islandpacket.comMay 2, 2014 

Beaufort County schools name 31 teachers of the year

The Beaufort County School District announced teachers of the year for each of its schools Friday.

The teachers were selected by their peers through criteria established by the schools, the S.C. Department of Education and the district's Teacher Forum, according to a news release. The teachers will be eligible to compete for district teacher of the year next fall.

The teachers of the year are as follows:

  • Makela Wilson, Battery Creek High School
  • Debra Manyin, Beaufort Elementary School
  • Sheila Catoe, Beaufort High School
  • Patricia Fidrych, Beaufort Middle School
  • Nikki Sparks, Bluffton Elementary and Early Childhood Center
  • Lt. Col. John Carothers, Bluffton High School
  • Sharon McMahon, Bluffton Middle School
  • Debra Graf, Broad River Elementary School
  • Nancy Norris, Coosa Elementary School
  • Anthony Smith, H.E. McCracken Middle School
  • Karen Sandlin, Hilton Head Island Early Childhood Center
  • Michelle Quigley, Hilton Head Island Elementary School
  • Annette Lee, Hilton Head Island High School
  • Steven Moe, Hilton Head Island Middle School
  • Justin Vaughn, Hilton Head Island School for the Creative Arts
  • Cindy McKain, J.S. Shanklin Elementary School
  • Lori Baggett, Lady's Island Elementary School
  • Eric Mohrman, Lady's Island Middle School
  • Robin Berkeley, M.C. Riley Elementary School
  • Carol Pringle, Mossy Oaks Elementary School
  • Maryanne Cherry, Okatie Elementary School
  • Caroleen Hodge, Port Royal Elementary School
  • Christina Cook, Pritchardville Elementary School
  • Michelle Morrison, Red Cedar Elementary School
  • Bob Prawel, Robert Smalls Middle School
  • Christina Johnson, St. Helena Elementary School
  • Michelle Henry, Whale Branch Elementary School
  • Amy Simmons, Whale Branch Middle School
  • Yolanda Saunders-Polk, Whale Branch Early College High School
  • Angela Picot, Right Choices alternative education program
  • Brad Childress, Beaufort-Jasper Academy for Career Excellence

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service