District honors 31 seniors at annual scholars banquet

sbowman@beaufortgazette.comApril 30, 2014 

Beaufort County public schools' top academic performers were honored at Wednesday night's annual Senior Scholars Banquet.

The district recognized 31 high school seniors at the banquet at the Callawassie Island clubhouse.

Those recognized have maintained a 3.5 grade-point average, are in the top 10 percent of their classes and have earned at least an 85 average in each quarter of all their high school courses.

"This is an amazing group of young people," said Board of Education Chairman Bill Evans. "Throughout their high school careers, they've worked hard in their academics, and they've been actively involved at their schools."

The honorees of the scholars banquet are:

  • Battery Creek High School: Erik Barbosa, Kristen Haberkorn and Illyona Johnstone.
  • Beaufort High School: Camille Bibb, Zoe Brais, Molly Clark, Joshua Fickes, Brady McKenzie, Jennifer Mullins and James Rider.
  • Bluffton High School: Alexandra Lowell, Stephanie Ortega, Foster Ritchie and Davis Rosenblum.
  • Hilton Head Island High School: Logan Ballard, Hannah Brink, Olivia Joslin, Kara Klein, Christopher Le, Christina Mason, David Maurer, Marshall McGarity, Ciara McMahon, Jazmine Morgan, Benjamin Sigmon, Leighton Smith, Marina Smith, Heidi Stine, Brian Stuligross and Addie Warren.
  • Whale Branch Early College High School: Stephanie Allen.

Follow reporter Sarah Bowman at twitter.com/IPBG_Sarah.

Related content:

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service