Jackson, Thomas sweep Sun Conference men's golf titles; USC Beaufort 6th

sports@islandpacket.comApril 29, 2014 

Sun Conference men's golfer of the year Sam Jackson led Thomas to a wire-to-wire victory at the league tournament on Tuesday at Savannah Quarters Country Club in Pooler, Ga.


Thomas University completed a wire-to-wire victory behind individual champion Sam Jackson on Tuesday at the Sun Conference Men's Golf Championship at Savannah Quarters Country Club in Pooler, Ga., while host USC Beaufort finished sixth.

The Night Hawks posted a team score of 290 in Tuesday's final round to finish the 54-hole event at 6-over-par 868 and claim a 10-shot victory over Northwood. Jackson, who was named the Sun Conference Player of the Year, posted an even-par 72 in the final round and finished at 5-under 211, one shot ahead of Northwood's Adam Andreasson.

The host team, USCB, fired the best round of the tournament with a final-round score of 6-under-par 282 to jump three spots. The Sand Sharks finished four shots behind third-place Johnson & Wales (882), three back of Southeastern (883) and one behind Webber International (885).

Junior Chandler McDonald (71-71-74--216) led USCB with a tie for sixth, and freshman Alan Cooke (83-69-69--221) posted a second consecutive round under par to jump into a tie for 14th. Sophomore Brad Curren (79-76-67--222) had the low round of the day and tied for 19th, while junior Chandler Vilcheck (81-78-72--231) tied for 41st and senior Brian Langley (79-79-75--233) finished 43rd.

Thomas' Peter Ireland was voted the league's Coach of the Year, and Embry-Riddle's Sneh Patel was given the Champion of Character award.

The Night Hawks earned the league's automatic bid to the NAIA Men's Golf National Championship from May 13-16 at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla. The remaining teams await the announcement of the at-large bids to nationals.

All-Conference Team

Sam Jackson, Thomas

Stone Cowie, Thomas

Brian Langley, USC Beaufort

Claes Isakson, Webber International

Hikari Yamamoto, Warner

Billy Nisbet, SCAD Savannah

Peter French, Johnson & Wales

Damon Salo, Johnson & Wales

Kyle Martin, Southeastern

Felix Aberg, Northwood

Coach of the Year: Peter Ireland, Thomas

Player of the Year: Sam Jackson, Thomas

Champion of Character: Sneh Patel, Embry-Riddle

All-Academic Team

Julian Dinsing, SCAD Savannah

Andres Escobar, SCAD Savannah

Rasa Lazarevic, SCAD Savannah

William Nisbit, SCAD Savannah

Neale Barnes, SCAD Savannah

Alex Mihai, USC Beaufort

Brad Curren, USC Beaufort

Shane Goldsmith, USC Beaufort

Harrison Steel, Johnson & Wales

Sam McCarthy, Northwood

Leopold Raab, Northwood

Mark Lyszczasz, Southeastern

Sneh Patel, Embry-Riddle

Kyle Morgan, Embry-Riddle

Thomas Garnier, Embry-Riddle

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service