Ninth annual Wexford Plantation Intercollegiate golf tournament tees off Monday, Tuesday

February 17, 2014 

The Francis Marion University golf team will host the ninth annual Wexford Plantation Intercollegiate Tournament on Monday and Tuesday at Wexford Golf Club.

The 36-hole event will begin both days with 8:30 a.m. shotgun starts.

The 18 participating teams, in addition to the host, are Austin Peay, Campbell, Connecticut, Davidson, Dayton, DePaul, Elon, Francis Marion, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Ohio, Presbyterian, Radford, Richmond, Samford, South Florida, USC Aiken, Western Carolina and William and Mary.

The state of Georgia has a two-year hold on the championship. Georgia State won the 2012 event, while Georgia Southern won last year. Other returning champions include USC Aiken (2006, 2009), and Elon (2008).

Dayton Flyers freshman Kevin Wargo lists his hometown as Hilton Head Island, though he attended school at Blessed Trinity Catholic in Roswell, Ga.

The par-72 Wexford Plantation course, which underwent extensive renovations in 2011, measures 6,828 yards.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service