Locals look to contend as Junior Heritage returns to Sea Pines this weekend

sfastenau@beaufortgazette.comJanuary 31, 2014 

Beaufort High's Josh Fickes hits a tee shot at the Golden Bear High School Invitational in February on Hilton Head Island.


Josh Fickes will become reacquainted with Harbour Town Golf Links on Friday after a couple of years away.

Fickes once caddied a practice round for two-time Heritage champion Boo Weekley and had an opportunity to play the course. He played Heron Point by Pete Dye for the first time this past weekend after being warned of the tricky greens.

Fickes is hoping the experiences will be enough to compete for the boys title at the Sea Pines Junior Heritage, which begins Saturday at Heron Point and concludes Sunday at famed Harbour Town.

"I think something around par (is good)," Fickes said. "I don't think it's going to take a really low number -- you never know. I would say something 1-under or 2-under would be really good, especially if the wind gets up or it gets cold."

The tournament returns after not being played in 2013. The Heritage Classic Foundation initially announced what sounded like the end of the event, but a partnership was formed with the S.C. Junior Golf Association to keep the tournament running.

The Beaufort High School senior, who signed to play at Clemson, will play a practice round Friday with Hilton Head Island's Andrew Orischak, who has much more experience on the two layouts than his older friend.

Orischak, through his connections in Sea Pines and with the Hilton Head Island High School golf team, guessed he has played Harbour Town a dozen times and Heron Point many more.

The friends will have plenty of competition, even from within Beaufort County. Bluffton's Trace Crowe earned the 2013 Jay Haas Award, given to the SCJGA's top boys player.

Among the others in the field are Benjamin Griffin, the boys runner-up in 2012. Clementina Rodriguez, the girls runner-up, is also back.

Matt Cheng, Sawyer Shaw, Joshua Martin and Aaron Terrazas are all returning on the boys side after finishing in the top 10 in 2012. Bryana Nguyan, Sierra Brooks and Ana Ruiz are back after finishing among the top-10 girls in 2012.

Chase Koepka, the 2012 boys champion, now plays golf at South Florida. Ashlan Ramsey, the 2012 girls champion, is a freshman at Clemson.

Orischak said the key to taming Harbour Town is in driving the ball well, and that Heron Point requires more touch around the greens.

"You've definitely got to take a somewhat conservative approach," he said.

Orischak and Fickes are playing the event for the first time. But both have big victories in the past year.

Fickes won the S.C. Golf Association Junior Championship last June. Orischak won the American Junior Golf Association event at Chechessee Creek Club the same month.

"I've heard it's pretty good; they do a great job," Fickes said. "I know a lot of the kids. I know everybody is pretty experienced and knows what they're doing."

2014 Sea Pines Junior Heritage

What: 36-hole boys and girls junior golf tournament

When: Saturday and Sunday

Where: Sea Pines' Heron Point by Pete Dye course and Harbour Town Golf Links

First round tee times

Saturday, at Heron Point

No. 1

9 a.m.: Gianna Tomeo, Bryana Nguyen, Jacqueline Twitty

9:09 a.m.: Justin Hood, Sawyer Shaw, Blake Fiest

9:18 a.m.: Annika Bovender, Rei Nakatani, Alix Lowe

9:27 a.m.: Jamie Wilson, Andrew Alligood, Thomas Walsh

9:36 a.m.: Anita Uwadua, Anne Taylor Hough, Anna Redding

9:45 a.m.: Keenan Huskey, Alex Smalley, Jerry Wall

9:54 a.m.: Victoria Huskey, Ana Paula Valdez, Kari Bellville

10:03 a.m.: Josh Fickes, Andreas Halvorsen, Will Voetsch

10:12 a.m.: Thamonpat Siriko, Sydney Legacy, Isabella DiLisio

10:21 a.m.: Eddie Wadja, Bryson Nimmer, Joshua Martin

10:30 a.m.: Shannon Brooks, Kelli Murphy, Clementina Rodriguez

10:39 a.m.: Coleman Self, Peter Mathison, Kyle Mueller

10:48 a.m.: Reona Hirai, Claire Hodges, Phyllis Tang

10:57 a.m.: Tyler Young, Benjamin Griffin, Trace Crowe

No. 10

9 a.m.: Toks Pedro, Geuntae Kim, Lewis Reed

9:09 a.m.: Madison Moosa, Carly Burkhardt, Ana Ruiz

9:18 a.m.: Dwight Cauthen, Phillip Loeb, Spencer Ralston

9:27 a.m.: Natalie Srinavasan, Delaney Shah, Gina Kim

9:36 a.m.: Zach McLain, Daniel Wetterich, Aaron Terrazas

9:45 a.m.: Isi Quevedo, Cake Phuchanbanchob, Samantha Guang

9:54 a.m.: Jake Carter, Ryan Stachler, Matthew Lavery

10:03 a.m.: Drake Cassidy, Harrison Rhoades, Benjamin Shipp

10:12 a.m.: Caleb Proveaux, Ben Schlottman, Gavin Lindstrom

10:21 a.m.: Austin Zoller, Jonathon Keppler, Tennoshin Ogawa

10:30 a.m.: Will Miles, Shota Ozaki, Ross Robison

10:39 a.m.: Andrew Orischak, Wes Simmons, Matt Cheng

10:48 a.m.: Trent Phillips, S.M. Lee, Travis Mancill

10:57 a.m.: Trevor Phillips, Austin Harrill, Matt Lowe

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service