Beaufort International Film Festival announces finalists for 2014

emoody@beaufortgazette.comDecember 13, 2013 

The Eighth Annual Beaufort International Film Festival is spreading its reach this year, with finalists hailing from six countries and across the United States.

Organizers released the list of finalists Friday for the festival, which runs from Feb. 12 to 16 at the University of South Carolina Beaufort Center for the Arts.

Beaufort Film Society president Ron Tucker said more countries will be represented at the coming festival than ever before. Filmmakers from Germany, the Russian Federation, Australia, China and Canada were selected as finalists.

"That tells me that the marketing that we use to get the word out is working," Tucker said. "Every year there's more and more festivals, and all the festivals are competing with each other. ... So we try to make our festival more and more attractive each year, so that word will travel through the filmmakers that this one is good."

In November, the festival made the 2013 list of the Top 25 Coolest General Film Festivals in the World, published by MovieMaker Magazine. Tucker said that's another sign the festival is growing in popularity.

About 8,000 people attended last year.

Of the 150 entries submitted for the 2014 festival, 34 films and screenplays were selected in such categories as animation, documentary, short film, student film and features. From those, six actors and five directors were selected as finalists for individual awards.

Many of the entries are from repeat finalists or winners, and Tucker said he has spoken with a number of them who are excited to return to Beaufort.

"I just called Mark Albertin (Augusta, Ga.), and he was beside himself excited about getting to come back," Tucker said.

Of note among the finalists is the clean sweep of the student film category by the University of North Carolina School of the Arts in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Savannah College of Art and Design student Michael Hogan had submitted an entry for the category, but judges moved his "Moment of Tooth" entry to the animation category.

This year, the festival will honor the 20th anniversary of the filming of "Forrest Gump," much of which took place in and around Beaufort.

Two-time Oscar Award-winning film editor Arthur Schmidt will receive the Jean Ribaut Award for Excellence in Film Editing during the festival. He won Oscars for his work on "Forrest Gump" and "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?"

Festival organizers are seeking locals who participated in the movie for special events during the film festival. A "Behind the Magic" documentary about the making of the film will be shown Feb. 14, followed by a screening of the movie.

Residents who participated in the film are asked to contact festival organizers at 843-522-3196 or at

Finalists are (trailers, clips or other related video accompanies film titles where available):


  • "Death & the Robot," Austin Taylor, Winston-Salem, N.C.

  • "Double Occupancy," Fabian Giessler, Weimar, Germany

  • "Moment of Tooth," Michael Hogan, Savannah

    Moment of Tooth from stephan ehl on Vimeo.
  • "Sleight of Hand," Michael Cusak, Kent Town, Australia

  • Documentary:

  • "16 Acres," Mike Marcucci, New York City

  • "AKA Doc Pomus," William Hechter and Peter Miller, Ontario, Canada

  • "Discovering Dave: Spirit Captured in Clay," Mark Albertin, Augusta, Ga.

  • "Jungle Warfare College," Jesse Veverka, Brooktondale, N.Y.

  • "The Sum Total of Our Memory," Barbara Klutinis, San Francisco

  • Features:

  • "Pechorin," Khrushch Roman, Russian Federation

  • "Teddy Bears," Thomas Beatty and Rebecca Fishman, Los Angeles

  • "The One Who Loves You," Katharyn Grant, Denver, Colo.

  • Shorts:

  • "A Lasting Sorrow," David Geary, Louisville, Ky. Full film:

    A LASTING SORROW | Full Film from Michael Alden Lloyd on Vimeo.
  • "Amor Imposible," Felix Martiz, South Gate, Calif.

  • "Bet on Red," John Murray, Roswell, Ga.
  • "Clown Nose Theory," Ned Farr, Venice, Calif.

    Clown Nose Theory from RedRoadStudios on Vimeo.
  • "Honeymoon Suite," Zao Wang, Beijing, China

  • "Masque," Robert Hatch, Director," Beverly Hills
  • "The Things My Father Never Taught Me," Burleigh Smith, East Perth, Australia
  • "The Long Wait," Wolfgang Bodison, Los Angeles
  • Student Films:

    All finalists in the student category are from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, Winston-Salem, N.C.

  • "Death of Eurydice"
  • "Helpless"

  • "Link"
  • "Title Fight"
  • "Trustworthy"
  • "U-666"
  • "What Remains"
  • "Wings"

  • Screenplay:

  • "Coyote Dances With Fire," Todd Selleck, Byron Center, Mich.
  • "Fox-Tare Two-Eight," Shelia Watson, Charleston
  • "Machina," Tom Radovich, Chicago
  • "Old Scars," Richard Levine, Jacksonville, Fla.
  • "Pawn," Uyen Le and V.W. Scheich, Los Angeles
  • "Stargazer," Marcia Chandler Rhea, Charleston
  • Best Actor:

  • Elizabeth Yoder, "The Long Wait"
  • Gary Weeks, "Bet on Red"
  • Gillian Jacobs, "Teddy Bears"
  • Katharyn Grant, "The One Who Loves You"
  • Lauren Holly, "Masque"
  • Richard Losee, "Masque"
  • Best Director:

  • Katharyn Grant, "The One Who Loves You"
  • Ned Farr, "The Clown Nose Theory"
  • Robert Hatch, "Masque"
  • Thomas Beatty and Rebecca Fishman, "Teddy Bears"
  • Zao Wang, "Honeymoon Suite"

Follow reporter Erin Moody at

Related content:

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service