Dominico DeSole and his boat Slingshot win Island Packet Cup

sports@islandpacket.comOctober 22, 2013 

Yacht Club of Hilton Head Island Commodore Aubrey Vaughan, left, awards the Island Packet Cup to Dominico DeSole, right, while regatta chairman and race officer Jim Vaughn, middle, looks on.

SUBMITTED PHOTO — Submitted photo

Dominico DeSole and his boat Slingshot were the big winners this past weekend in the 44th annual Harbour Town Cup and the 43rd Calibogue Cup put on by the Yacht Club of Hilton Head Island.

DeSole and Slingshot finished second in Saturday's Harbour Town Cup and second Sunday in the Calibogue Cup in the Harbor20 class. He was awarded the Island Packet Trophy for the best overall time for both regattas, determined using the performance handicap rating formula to level the playing field for the different classes.

Ned Neilson and his boat Acadia, which finished first in the Harbour20 class, was the overall winner of the Harbour Town Cup, held Saturday in challenging conditions off Harbour Town. Pat Howard and Southern Breese won the A Fleet class, while Bill Lawrenson and Serenity won the B Fleet.

In Sunday's Calibogue Cup, held off Braham's Point in the Calibogue Sound, Mike Roe and Ocean Avenue won the A Fleet, Tom Caldwell and Antares won the B Fleet and Kevin Keogh and Norseman won the Harbor20.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service