Beaufort Symphony Orchestra to open 2013-14 season

info@islandpacket.comOctober 7, 2013 

Beaufort Symphony Orchestra


The Beaufort Symphony Orchestra will open its 2013-14 season at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 10 and 3 p.m. Oct. 13 at University of South Carolina Beaufort Center for the Arts with "The Last Word" of composers Franz Joseph Haydn and Antonin Dvorak. Written some 100 years apart, their last symphonies are among the most celebrated by musicians and music lovers alike.

Haydn's Symphony No. 104, known as "The London Symphony," was composed in Vienna in 1795 following a stay in London during which he composed the first six of the 12 "London" series. Dvorak's Symphony No. 9, known as "The New World Symphony," was composed in 1893 while he was living in America.

Tickets are $37.50.

Details:, 800-595-4849

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service