Recreation Results and Tee Times, July 14

sports@islandpacket.comJuly 14, 2013 


Bear Creek

Results of Ladies tournament held July 11; Format: Better Ball; 1. Jane Joseph, Judy Matchett; 2. Sue Rodier, Felicia Pascal.

Results of 18-hole ladies tournament held July 11; Format: Better Ball; 1. Ellie Duke, Carol DeKany.

Country Club of Hilton Head

Results of MGA tournament held July 11; Format: Waltz; 1. Tony Andreano, Steve Mayconich, Ed McLaughlin, Bob Clemens; 2. Harry Peterson, Bob von Bremen, Roger Johnson, Dean Hergert (blind); Closest to the Pin -- Steve Horvat.

Dolphin Head

Results of Ladies tournament held July 10; Format: 1 better ball of 3; 1. Pat Carroll, Carol Fellner, Pat Rapp (blind); 2. Bette Taylor, Lynn Lenning, Betsy Crovo.

Fripp Island

Results of tournament held July 8; 1. Thom Lane, Brion Tinsley and Duffy Howard; 2. Richards Watts, Jim Clark and Mike Jahn; 3. Dick Briggs, Gerry Burke and Perminder Bindra; 4. Ed Armstrong, Charlie Richman and Mike Virostek.

Results of the Women's Golf Association event July 9; Format: Scramble with the FIWGA 9 Holers; 1. Linda Sigafoos, Patti Mathews, Sam Taylor and Susan Price; 2. Annelisa Bindra, Nancy Connell, Nancy McKay and Zan Dukes; 3. Deb Merwin, Rita Michals and Sue Ranieri.

The Golf Club at Indigo Run

Results of Men's day held July 10; Format: 2 best ball of 4/Nassau; Front 9 -- 1. Tim Perkins, Bob Buczynski, Art LeBlanc, Keith Sale; 2. Gerry Beauclair, Steve Siegelbaum, Ray Werts, Jeff Kestenbaum; Back 9 -- 1. Tom Young, Frank Colella, Roger Halpin, Stan Jewell; 2. Floyd McKeag, Al Waleko, Dick Sheak, Steve Dickler; Overall -- 1. Gerry Beauclair, Steve Siegelbaum, Ray Werts, Jeff Kestenbaum; 2. Tom Young, Frank Colella, Roger Halpin, Stan Jewell; Closest to the Pin -- Mike Flint, Al Waleko, Marv Lich, Moses Grant.

Hidden Cypress

Results of tournament held July 5; Format: 9 hole couples; Flight 1 -- 1. Bruce and Sue Kline; 2. Bruce and Joan Turner; 3. Tom and Donna Cantwell; Flight 2 -- 1. Allen and Jean Cosgrove; 2. Gary and Bev Lausch; 3. Barry and Betsy DePristo.

Hilton Head Island Junior Golf Association

Results of event held July 8 at Bear Creek GC; Boys 18 holes -- 1. B. Moody 76, 2. B. Rindt 80, 3. D. Hall 82 (moc); Girls 18 holes -- 1. K. Nizolek 75, 2. N. Lezcano 83, 3. M. Wipper 93; Boys 9 holes -- 1. E. White 39, 2. B. Dyess 40, 3. A. Thaller 44; Girls 9 holes -- 1. K. Thorne 42, 2. R. Wohn 52, 3. M. Prince 56

Results of event held July 9 at Spanish Wells GC; Boys 9 holes -- 1. J. Griz 40, 2. J. Jolley 49 (moc), 3. R. Weathers 49; Boys 5 holes -- 1. N. Hawkins 22, 2. J. Gariti 23, 3. G. Lezcano 24; Girls 5 holes -- 1. R. Hubbard 27, 2. M. Harrison 40, 3. R. Weaver 47

Lady's Island

Results of Men's Golf Association held July 11; Format: Power Ball Three Best Net; 1. Bob Kiessling, Larry Beckish, Powell Christian, Bob deGuzman; 2.(tie) George McMurtry, Alan Westcob, Ben Franklin, Chuck Gluck and Frank Porter, John Dansby, Jack Shaffer, John Sheppard; Closest to the Pin -- Larry Beckish, Mike Sinisko, Bob deGuzman, George McMurtry.

Moss Creek

Results of Men's day tournament held July 9; Format: 1,2.3; Flight 1 -- 1. Sam Nutty, Tom McNutt, Jerry Coghlan, Don Muller; Flight 2 -- 1. (tie) Joe Beck, Pete Halsey, Mike Thompson, Ed Bloomer, David Watson, Ron Deserrano, Art Dunlap, Jack Morris.

Results of Ladies day held July 10; Format: Individual Stableford; Flight 1 -- 1. Donna Cawthon, 2. Linda McCarron; Flight 2 -- 1. (tie) Sharon Sommerstein, Sandy Reed; Flight 3 -- 1. Camille Beck; Flight 4 -- 1. (tie) Jeffrie Natale, Belva Wilson.

Results of Ladies nine tournament held July 11; Format: Individual Stableford; 1. J. Crudden, 2. E. Himes; 3. (tie) K. Doran, S. Kaminski, S. Lachenauer; 6. J. Eastman.

Palmetto Hall

Results of Women's Golf Association tournament held 1. Jane Murphy, 2. Amber McElhaney; Low Gross -- Marilyn Zeleznick; Birdies: Jane Murphy, Brigitte Moser; Closest to the Pin -- Brigitte Moser, Laura Hrubi, Amber McElhaney.

Results of Men's group held July 10; Format: Best 3/2/1; 1. Roger Healey, Rainer Kuenkel, Jim Colburn, Al Vingelen; 2. Tim Scanlin, Dave Linka, Joe Wieczorek, Tom Renshaw; 3. David Henson, Richard Miller, Ray McElhaney, Bob Holben; Closest to the Pin -- Richard Miller, Rainer Kuenkel, Don Tuckey, Bob Poveromo, Roger Healey.

Results of Ladies Nine Hole group tournament held July 11; Format: Better Ball; 1. Susan Donnell, Penny Fobes, Carol Renshaw.

Rose Hill

Results of MGA Firecracker tournament held July 6; Format: Step-Aside Scramble; 1. Charlie Morgan, Ann Morgan, Fran Richards, Shirley DeHond; 2. Bill Shipe, George Kelly, Roger Lytle, Barb Lytle; 3. Michael Burnce, Kathy Burnce, Jerry Wells, Pamela Haugner; 4. Jack Diver, Joanne Diver, Tom Fox, Dan Ryan; 5. Frank Bennett, Kay Bennett, Frank Pinto, Janice Pinto; 6. Dave Miller, Linda Miller, Bill Smith, Len Marino; 7. Dick Timcoe, Charlotte Timcoe, Bob Williams; Closest to the Pin -- Jane Gurganus, Fran Richards; Pot-o-gold -- Ann Morgan, Jerry Wells.

Results of tournament held July 9; Format: Whack & Hack; 1. Jerry Wells, Ed Scott, George Edell, Ron Stovall; 2. Bill Shipe, Ernie Hannin, John Klinger, Greg Vavoso; Low Net -- Ron Stovall; Closest to the Pin -- Bill Shipe.


Hilton Head Island Junior Golf Association

Monday, at Island West GC -- 12:55 p.m.: P. Evans, R. Evans; 1 p.m.: T. Mancill, H Mancill, J. Mancill; 1:10 p.m.: C. McKinley, J. McKinley, C. Ingram, Guest; 1:20 p.m.: W. Long, R. Long, R. Morway, Guest; 1:30 p.m.: J. Sims, B. Sims, Guest; 1:40 p.m.: R. Brindt, Guest, A. Ittenbach, D. Ittenbach; 1:50 p.m.: J. DiGenova, Guest, A.Thaller, Guest; 2 p.m.: H. Lopez, Guest, T. Gulbin, Guest; 2:10 p.m.: M. Wipper, Guest, C. Tassone, Guest; 2:20 p.m.: J. Tobin, F. Tobin, L. Anderson, Guest; 2:30 p.m.: K. Nizolek, M. Nizolek, R. Moosbrugger, Guest; 2:40 p.m.: D. Graupner, M. Graupner, Guest; 2:50 p.m.: D. Robinson, Guest, B. Bonham, Guest; 3 p.m.: B. Fick, B. Fick, T. Fick, T. Fick; 3:10 p.m.: S. Warren, F. Warren, P. Keber, Guest

Tuesday, at Pinecrest GC -- 12:30 p.m.: J. Griz, P. Griz, N. Hawkins, Guest; 12:40 p.m.: H. Brill, C. Brill, E. Brill; 12:50 p.m.: N. Garati, J. Garati, Guest; 1 p.m.: A. Purvis, Guest, T. Kriney, Guest; 1:10 p.m.: C. Brino, Guest, M. Harrison, M. Auld; 1:20 p.m.: R. Weaver, Guest, W. Newton, Guest; 1:30 p.m.: J. Jolley, J. Jolley, P. Tobin, F. Tobin; 1:40 p.m.: I. Cruikshank, Guest, H. Ackerman, Guest; 1:50 p.m.: N. Carlson, J. Carlson, B. Carlson; 2 p.m.: J. Patterson, K. Patterson, D. DelGuercio, V. DelGuercio

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service