Four-Ball tournament set to tee off on Hilton Head Island

sports@islandpacket.comJune 21, 2013 

The Hilton Head Island Amateur Golf Association Four-Ball Championship returns to Bear Creek Golf Club this weekend.

The 36-hole, better-ball event will be contested by 16 teams in the championship flight. The tournament also includes a senior and handicap division.

Bear Creek has drawn praise from HHIAGA director Bob Collar in past years for the condition of its greens.

Among the notable teams will be Collar and former tour professional John Patterson. Jeff Wong is paired with J.D. Hoft, who won the association's opening event and was the 2012 Beaufort City champion. And Joe Bryant will team with Rob Simmons, who will be the two-time defending champion at the HHIAGA Amateur Championship next month.

2013 Hilton Head Island Amateur Golf Association Four-Ball Championship

What: 36-hole better-ball tournament hosted by the Hilton Head Island Amateur Golf Association

When: Saturday and Sunday

Where: Bear Creek Golf Club, Hilton Head Plantation

Details: Other HHIAGA events include Amateur Championship, July 20-21 at The Golf Club at Indigo Run, and the 27-Hole Challenge, July 28 at Callawassie. For information, contact director Bob Collar at 843-816-0898.

Tee times

No. 10 tee

Championship division

8:30 a.m.: Bubba Jacoby/Tim Ferguson; Corky Gifford/Lewis Bikerton

8:40: a.m.: Bob Collar/John Patterson; Trey Testino/Todd McGerity

8:50 a.m.: Jamie Manning/Gerry Pascale; Brian Rizzo/Marcus Byler

9 a.m.: Joe Bryant/ Rob Simmons; Jim Martin/Geoff Bikerton

9:10 a.m.: J.D. Hoft/Jeff Wong; Kevin King/Gary Duren

9:20 a.m.: Bill Fuge/Randy Sparks; Dave Politi/Brian Quigley

9:30 a.m.: Scott Berkner/Ed Claytor; Mike Hostilo/Chris Conefry

9:40 a.m.: John Piccione/Joe Spado; Jim Richardson/John Tighe

No. 1 tee

Senior division

8:30 a.m.: John Hencken/Joe Vignati; J.R. Evans/Keith Guise

8:40 a.m.: Jon Hauck/Ed Atkins; Mickey Sinkus/Bernie DiPasquale

8:50 a.m.: Kevin Arnold/Christopher Lane; Eric Dollenberg/Charlie Hall

9 a.m.: Gary Perkins/Orrie Varn; Gibby Young/Chris Morris

9:10 a.m: Stew Butler/Dave Cunningham; Al Ithen/Larry Bowie

Handicap division

9:20 a.m.: Bryant Turner/John Turner; Randy Bradshaw/Jim Criswell

9:30 a.m.: Steve Henry/Terry McOwen; Mike Clementi/Marty Crocker

9:40 a.m.: P.J. Tanner/Brian Baird; Mark Carey/Jim Manning

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service