44 seniors graduate from Thomas Heyward Academy

tbarton@islandpacket.comMay 24, 2013 

The 44 students of Thomas Heyward Academy's Class of 2013 graduated Friday in the school's gymnasium in Ridgeland.

Total amount of scholarship money earned by graduates: Not available.

Speakers: Headmaster John D. Rogers

Valedictorian: Ryan Curtalan Day earned a 5.0 grade point average and will study biological sciences at Clemson University.

Salutatorian: Needhee Nilkanth Patel earned a 4.8 grade point average and will attend the College of Charleston. She has not decided what she will study.

From the headmaster: "The Thomas Heyward Academy 2013 class of 45 students is one of the finest, in every sense of the word, that I have worked with in 47 years in the field of education. ... I chose to delay my retirement until this group graduated. Along with being outstanding academically, this class had a truly outstanding year athletically and in the arts. In closing, I repeat, this is a wonderful group of young people and they have served their community well in hundreds of hours of service to the tri-county areas of Jasper, Beaufort and Hampton. The class of 2013 will leave with both my love and prayers." -- John D. Rogers Jr.

Thomas Heyward Academy Class of 2013

Kelsey Ann Baker

Luke Cutler Barker

Isabel Lide Bergmann

Tristen Hunter Blanton

Halle Louise Boni

Hugh Grayson Brazil

Jordan Leigh Brown

Sara Evon Cathey

Brayden Carter Childers

Courtney Ruth Childers

Chandler Lee Cook

Brian Scott Creech

Ainsley Bree Daley

Hayden Carter Daley

Ryan Curtalan Day

Taylor Morgan Ernestine

Brennan Vincent Fleury

Andrew Joseph Fowler

Jordan Elizabeth Hunnicutt

Brielle Bobbie Jungblut

Nicholas Austin Keiffer

Morgan Ashley Kelly

Paul Jeffrey Kopenhaver

Michael Edward Lettich

Jamie Marie Malphrus

Justin Matthew Malphrus

Meredith McCurdy Malphrus

Brandon David Mingledorff

Zackery Hunter Newton

John William Padgett

Needhee Nilkanth Patel

Stevi Jennifer Pounder

Jordan Taylor Raines

Forrest Harvey Richardson

Kyle Mazon Roach

Jacob Wesley Rountree

Matthew Harry Rountree

Kayla Marie Sanders

Christopher Shannon Smith

Athena Draven Townsley

Jeremy Robert Tuten

John David Tuten

Bryan Lee Wade

Olivia Addie Wall

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service