Heritage Academy honors 36 graduates

tbarton@beaufortgazette.comMay 22, 2013 

Carla Loyola, 17, of Queretaro, Mexico, center, smiles as she waits to enter the theater with her fellow graduates on Wednesday afternoon during the 2013 Heritage Academy graduation at the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina on Hilton Head Island.

DELAYNA EARLEY — Delayna Earley Buy Photo

The 36 students of the Heritage Academy's Class of 2013 graduated Wednesday at the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina on Hilton Head Island.

Total amount of scholarship money earned by graduates: More than $1.1 million to more than 30 colleges.

Speakers: Head of school Gloria Shoemaker, valedictorian and salutatorian, with an invocation by student Matthew White

Valedictorian: Emily Hammond earned a 5.06 grade point average and plans to study business economics at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Salutatorian: Krista Ray earned a 5.04 grade point average and plans to study film production at New York University.

From the principal: "When I think of the Class of 2013, I remember a strong, diverse tapestry of multi-nationalism, passion, talent, scholarship and character. The rich diversity these 36 scholar-athletes and artists represent assures us of a promising tomorrow as they confidently disperse to commence learning, performing and serving in pursuit of their dreams. The world will soon benefit from this class' intelligence, leadership, creativity and desire to act now. On behalf of the Heritage Academy school community, which spans 32 countries, I congratulate each. We will indeed miss the vivid, international fabric of friendship and personalities, as well as the personal integrity and talents of the Class of 2013." -- Gloria Shoemaker, head of school

Heritage Academy's Class of 2013:

Margine Maria Arguello

Andrea Bacchi

Tara Bianco

Kali Florentina Boyer

Alana Joy Brand

Colby Lee Burke

Paige Lynn Cappelli

Athithan Chaowalit

Francisco Contreras Jesurun

Benjamin Lee Dietrich

Tiffany Gwendolyn Dorau

Emily Aspen Hammond

Connor Jack Daniel Hogan

Seung Jae Hong

Patrick Kim

Kosta K. Kosutic

Britnee Cameron Kratochvil

Olivia C. Landino

Soo Jin Lim

Carla Mar

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service