52 Beaufort County high school athletes accept college scholarships

info@islandpacket.comMay 16, 2013 

Fifty-two Beaufort County School District athletes from this year's graduating class have accepted college scholarship offers from 34 colleges and universities around the nation.

Those scholarships were offered by schools as near as the University of South Carolina-Beaufort and as distant as the Air Force Academy in Colorado.

"It's wonderful to see the hard work and dedication of our student athletes rewarded with scholarships that will help them work toward brighter futures - and also help their parents cope with the considerable expense of a college education," acting superintendent Jackie Rosswurm said in a news release.

Chief student services officer Gregory McCord, who oversees the district's athletics programs, said the district's goal is to produce well-rounded "scholar athletes."

"Each year we hope to see the number of college scholarship offers increase as more students invest their time and energy in academics and athletics," McCord said.

The number of college athletic scholarships accepted by last year's graduating class was not immediately available Thursday.

Spokesman Jim Foster said this is the first year the district has compiled information for the entire class of Beaufort County seniors.

Class of 2013 student athletes and their college scholarships

Battery Creek High School

  • Willie Doe: Newberry College (football)
  • Justin Frazier: Limestone College (football)
  • Michael Harbin: Limestone College (football)
Beaufort High School
  • Trey Arrant: Coker College (wrestling)
  • Michelle Britton: Limestone College (golf)
  • Caleb Gee: Charleston Southern (football)
  • JaClay Mixon: Limestone College (football)
  • Molly Murphy: University of South Carolina (ROTC)
  • Kaila Smith: Coastal Carolina University (track)
  • Mack Stansell: Brewton Parker College (soccer)
  • David Tilton: Erskine College (baseball)
Bluffton High School
  • Jaquan Campbell Greenville Tech (football)
  • Austin Chittum: Catawba College (football)
  • Andrew Faciszewski: Air Force Academy (swimming)
  • CJ Frazier: Newberry College (football)
  • Zell Graham: Greenville Tech (football)
  • Tyreek Major: Greenville Tech (football)
  • Amanda Rainboth: Spartanburg Methodist College (soccer)
  • Emily Rhodes: Columbia College (tennis)
  • Abby Roulston: Newberry College (volleyball)
  • Jeremy Scott: Greenville Tech (football)
  • Jerry Scott: Greenville Tech (football)
  • Katie Sills: Meredith College (lacrosse)
  • Anthony Smith: Air Force Academy (football)
  • Kyle Waddell: Southeastern University (football)
  • Madison Wall: West Virginia University (swimming)
  • Marquis Webber: Gray Military College (football)
Hilton Head Island High School
  • Mary Bolgan: University of South Carolina (swimming)
  • Taylor Bush: Erskine College (soccer)
  • Maddie Campbell: Newberry College (lacrosse)
  • Emily Crick: Winthrop University (soccer)
  • Camille Felix: Georgia Tech University (swimming)
  • Kelsey Fitzhugh: Charleston Southern University (soccer)
  • Connor Goulet: Newberry College (soccer)
  • Storm Grisham: Anderson College (baseball)
  • Jordan Haughton- James: Charleston Southern University (soccer)
  • Robbie Iulo: Lehigh University (track)
  • Victoria Johnston: Erskine College (soccer)
  • Michael Julian: University of Toledo (football)
  • Label Lewis: Rochester University (wrestling)
  • Cassie Ley: Florida Southern University(swimming)
  • Faith Lifer: Georgia Southern University (soccer)
  • Jack Manesiotis: University of Florida (cross-country/track)
  • Sean McMahon: College of Charleston (cross- country/track)
  • Bridget Noonan: USC-Beaufort (soccer)
  • Nicki Schoning: Charleston Southern University (soccer)
  • Alex Vinson: Erskine College (soccer)
Whale Branch Early College High School
  • Devonta' Delaney: The Citadel (football)
  • S'Nitra Mack: Allen University (basketball)
  • Tyrik Spicer: Edward Waters College (football)
  • Jaime Whalen: Savannah State University (volleyball)

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service