College Golf

SCAD Savannah women win Sun Conference golf tourney; USCB 3rd

info@islandpacket.comApril 24, 2013 

Led by repeat individual champion Alazne Urizar, top-ranked SCAD Savannah claimed the team title at the Sun Conference Women's Golf Championship on Tuesday in Okatie, finishing the 36-hole event at 627 to edge No. 7 Embry-Riddle by three shots at Oldfield Golf Club.

No. 13 USC Beaufort finished third at 639, followed by 10th-ranked Northwood (643), Webber International (683) and Warner (721). Thomas and Johnson & Wales each entered only three players, so they did not record a team score.

SCAD Savannah's Urizar was selected as the conference Player of the Year and Amanda Workman was named Coach of the Year. USCB's Kelli Nakano won the Champion of Character award.

Sophomore Samantha O'Donnell (78-78--156) led the way for the Sand Sharks, tying for fifth overall. Nakano (85-73--158) tied for eighth and was named to the All-Sun Conference team along with teammate Kaitlin O'Sullivan. O'Donnell, Nakano and O'Sullivan all made the Academic All-Conference team. Sophomore Tori DeGroodt (81-82--163) tied for 13th, junior Kendra Collins (81-84--165) tied for 17th and senior Phyllis Langley (82-85--167) tied for 23rd.

Urizar carded rounds of 3-over-par 75 each day to claim a one-shot victory over Embry-Riddle's Connie Pitenis (78-73--151), whose 1-over 73 in the final round matched Nakano's final round for the best round of the tournament.

SCAD Savannah's Sofia Molinaro (77-77--154) finished third, followed by Embry-Riddle's Sophie Olley (81-74--155). USCB's Samantha O'Donnell (78-78--156), Northwood's Micaela Johansson (81-75--156) and Thomas' Jessica Macphee (80-76--156) tied for fifth.

The weather was much more favorable Tuesday than Monday, when winds of more than 25 mph made for difficult scoring conditions. The average score Tuesday was 84.61, more than a shot lower than Monday's 85.92 average.

The teams now await the announcement of the NAIA Women's Golf National Championship qualifiers on May 9. The national championship will be held at Wilderness Ridge Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb., from May 21-24.


Connie Pitenis, Embry-Riddle

Sophie Olley, Embry-Riddle

Pia Jenko, Embry-Riddle

Tarah Winfield, Northwood

Alazne Urizar, SCAD

Sofia Molinaro, SCAD

Alexa Osbourn, SCAD

Jessica Macphee, Thomas U.

Kelli Nakano, USC Beaufort

Kaitlin O'Sullivan, USC Beaufort

Academic All-Conference

Paige Moffat, Johnson & Wales

Alazne Urizar, SCAD

Elva Jiang, SCAD

Jessica Macphee, Thomas U.

Jessica Thunberg, Thomas U.

Kelli Nakano, USC Beaufort

Kaitlin O'Sullivan, USC Beaufort

Samantha O'Donnell, USC Beaufort

Mikaela Lyander, Webber International

Johanna Spals, Webber International


Coach of the Year: Amanda Workman, SCAD

Player of the Year: Alazne Urizar, SCAD

Champion of Character: Kelli Nakano, USC Beaufort

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service