College Baseball

USC Beaufort baseball team splits pair with Warner

info@islandpacket.comApril 21, 2013 

HARDEEVILLE -- The University of South Carolina Beaufort baseball team continued its pursuit of the sixth and final spot in the Sun Conference Tournament on Saturday, splitting a doubleheader with Warner on Senior Day at Richard Gray Sports Complex.

The Sand Sharks claimed two of the three in the series against the Royals. USCB (23-21, 13-14 TSC) rallied to win Saturday's first game 4-3 in 10 innings before dropping the finale 5-0 to wrap up the regular season.

There's nothing left for the Sand Sharks to do now but watch the scoreboard. USCB needs Thomas to lose three of its five remaining conference games to clinch the final spot in the league tournament, which begins April 30 in Fort Myers, Fla.

USCB was down to its final two outs in Saturday's first game before scoring two runs in the ninth to tie it and winning it in the 10th on freshman Brandon Joyce's game-ending single to left-center.

USCB starter Hunter Englehart did not factor in the decision but turned in a strong outing, allowing three runs over 6 2/3 innings. Senior Kyle McCullough (5-1) worked a perfect 10th for the win.

Erik Armstrong was 3 for 3 and scored twice and Joyce was 2 for 4 with an RBI to pace the USCB offense.

In the finale, the Sand Sharks waited for a rally that never came. Warner lefty Andrew Yanes (6-3) scattered seven hits and struck out six in a shutout.

USCB sophomore Junior Delatorre (4-3) matched Yanes for most of the game. He didn't allow a baserunner until a two-out walk in the fourth and didn't give up a hit until Brandon Kirby's leadoff single in the fifth.

The Royals finally broke through in the eighth, chasing Delatorre and tallying four runs on five hits.

Delatorre was charged with two runs on four hits over 7 1/3 innings.

Ryan Doeppel went 2 for 3 to lead USCB's offense in the finale.

Between games, USCB honored seven seniors -- pitchers Andrew Barrineau, McCullough, Matthew Graney, Miles Galvin and Luke Pritchett; catcher Mitchell Johnson; and outfielder Doeppel. Barrineau, McCullough and Graney are "original Sand Sharks" who were part of the inaugural team in 2009.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service