Beaufort County school support staff members nominated for districtwide honor

info@islandpacket.comApril 17, 2013 

Support staff nominated for "Support Person of the Year" at each Beaufort County school were recognized at Tuesday's Board of Education meeting.

Support staff include social workers, school nurses, school secretaries, bookkeepers, maintenance staff, teacher assistants, technology specialists and more.

Five finalists will be chosen from the 30 school nominees based on their applications for the district-wide recognition, and those finalists will be interviewed by a team of judges.

The district's "Support Person of the Year" will be announced at a May 23 breakfast

The 2013 nominees are:

  • Battery Creek High media assistant Cecelia Cain
  • Beaufort High administrative assistant Kathy Walker
  • Bluffton High data specialist Kari Grunder
  • Hilton Head High theater manager John Quindlen
  • Whale Branch High hall monitor Larry Martin
  • Beaufort Middle special education assistant Willie Mae Hampton
  • Bluffton Middle administrative support Donna Perkins
  • H.E. McCracken Middle administrative support Michael Viscovitch
  • Hilton Head Middle special education assistant Darlene Binkley
  • Lady's Island Middle guidance clerk Kathy Holmes
  • Robert Smalls Middle media assistant Helen Yates
  • Whale Branch Middle office manager Deborah Connelly
  • Beaufort Elementary special education assistant Pam Caldwell
  • Bluffton Elementary media assistant Theresa Ball
  • Broad River Elementary maintenance employee Ulysses Black
  • Coosa Elementary kindergarten assistant Beverly Brown
  • Hilton Head Elementary media assistant Viviana Sheeran
  • Hilton Head Early Childhood Center media assistant Carol Bolgan
  • Hilton Head School for the Creative Arts office manager Kathleen Eways
  • Lady's Island Elementary pre-kindergarten teacher assistant Carla Kinsey
  • M.C. Riley Elementary administrative assistant Brenda Sigler
  • Mossy Oaks Elementary special education assistant Donna Coxwell
  • Okatie Elementary data specialist Lisa Nelson
  • Port Royal Elementary computer lab assistant Amanda Emery
  • Pritchardville Elementary office manager Kami Branham
  • Red Cedar Elementary bookkeeper Francine Ciavolino
  • Shanklin Elementary parent liaison Erin Everette-Parler
  • St. Helena Elementary parent liaison Lucille Gadson
  • Whale Branch Elementary and James J. Davis Early Childhood Center maintenance employee Paul Jones

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service