College Football

Initial 8 players chosen for S.C. Football Hall of Fame

sports@islandpacket.comJanuary 31, 2013 

A group of South Carolina sports media along with the organizers of the South Carolina College All Star Bowl have selected eight football legends to be charter members of the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame.

The eight inductees are: Clemson University’s Banks McFadden, Danny Ford and Frank Howard; the University of South Carolina’s George Rogers; Furman University’s Sam Wyche, and South Carolina State University’s Willie Jeffries, Harry Carson and Donnie Shell.

The eight will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at halftime of the S.C. College All Star Bowl on March 23 at North Greenville University.

More than 40 South Carolina gridiron greats were nominated for the initial class and other finalists were Clemson’s Bennie Cunningham, Terry Kinard, Jeff Davis and Steve Fuller, who lives in Bluffton; South Carolina’s Sterling Sharpe; Michigan State’s George Webster; Newberry’s Glen Cumbee and University of Tampa’s Fred Solomon.

This group represents players and coaches from South Carolina football programs, as well as Palmetto State natives who played collegiately at out-of-state schools.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service