All-State football list filled with area talent

info@islandpacket.comDecember 26, 2012 

SCISAA Mr. Football Ryan Day of Thomas Heyward Academy


Hilton Head Christian Academy and Thomas Heyward Academy dominated the 2012 High School Sports Report's SCISAA awards and All-State teams, while Bluffton fared the best among the area's public schools.

Thomas Heyward's Ryan Day was named the SCISAA Mr. Football, while teammate J.D. Tuten, was named the co-recipient of the Lonnie Robinson Memorial Career Mr. Football Award.

Hilton Head Christian's Brad Meccariello was named the Class 2-A Player of the Year.

Tommy Lewis, who led the Eagles to their fourth championship in seven years, was named the SCISAA Statewide Coach of the Year, while Thomas Heyward's Nic Shuford was tabbed as the Class 2-A Coach of the Year.

Quarterback C.J. Frazier led a group of five Bluffton players named to the Class 4-A Division II All-State team. He was joined by wide receiver Marquis Webber defensive lineman Shamier Blackshear, defensive back Anthony Smith and punter Mallie Sprouse.

Hilton Head Island quarterback Michael Julian was named to the Class 3-A All-State team, while Ridgeland-Hardeeville running back Deo'Vonte Doe and Battery Creek offensive lineman Justin Frazier were selected for the Class 2-A All-State team. Whale Branch wide receiver Dee Delaney was a Class 1-A All-State selection.

Hilton Head Christian placed seven on the SCISAA Class 2-A squad. Meccariello was joined by quarterback Caleb Lewis, linebacker Will McCutchen, linebacker Clay Oliver, defensive back, defensive back Jamario Williams, running back/kicker Tyler Chisholm - RB/PK - Hilton Head Christian and defensive lineman Reed Shindell.

Joining Day and Tuten on the squad from Thomas Heyward were offensive lineman Nick Kieffer, defensive back Bryan Lee Wade, defensive back Forrest Richardson and linebacker John Padgett.

Quarterback Charlie Wilmot and linebacker/running back Teron Daley represented Hilton Head Prep on the team.

Hilton Head Christian athlete DeAngelo Clark, Thomas Heyward defensive lineman Tank Boni and Hilton Head Island defensive back Aaron Frazier were named to the All-Rookie for freshmen or sophomores not named all-state.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service