Reception for departing Hilton Head council members

info@islandpacket.comNovember 19, 2012 

The Town of Hilton Head Island will host a reception at 4 p.m. today to honor outgoing council members Ken Heitzke and Bill Ferguson.

Fellow native-islander Marc Grant unseated Ferguson for the Ward 1 seat Nov. 6. Ferguson, 64, is council's longest-serving member and lone minority.

Heitzke, 83, mayor pro tem,did not seek re-election in Ward 6 after serving since 1997. John McCann will take his place.

Cake, punch and coffee will be served at Town Hall. Details: Lynn Buchman at 843-341-4700.

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service