Beaufort County teachers surprised with grants for classrooms

From staff reportsOctober 25, 2012 

Louise Louis of the Beaufort County School District Foundation for Educational Excellence gives Battery Creek High School photography teacher John Cullinen a for use in his classroom.


Some Beaufort County public-school teachers got a surprise Thursday -- and some money for their classroom from a local education foundation.

The Foundation for Educational Excellence awarded 20 grants totaling $8,000 to be used for innovative classroom projects, according to a news release from the Beaufort County School District. The grants ranged from $200 to $500.

"It's difficult for teachers to fund these sorts of classroom projects because of tight budgets," foundation chairwoman Peggy May said. "The foundation can play an important role in supporting teacher creativity by helping them to bring their instructional ideas to life."

Grant recipients were:

  • Julie Fletcher, Okatie Elementary, $488.62.

  • Kelly Pulaski, Coosa Elementary, $382.44.

  • Marianne Blake, Janet Rutland and Daffney Bing, St. Helena Elementary, $491.59.

  • Melanie Blanton, Robert Smalls Middle, $478.

  • Lori Cassidy, Hilton Head Island Elementary, $456.

  • Peggy Copley, Beaufort Elementary, $489.02.

  • John Cullinen, Battery Creek High, $473.21.

  • Deborah Duncan, Academy for Career Excellence, $500.

  • Helen Goodman, Okatie Elementary, $500.

  • Lynda Jernigan and Renee Glover, Coosa Elementary, $454.41.

  • Julie LaGrone, Beaufort Elementary, $200.

  • Cindy Landa and Nancy Norris, Coosa Elementary, $400.

  • Kathryn Madden, Whale Branch Middle, $500.

  • Peggi Martin and Jennifer Deal, Pritchardville Elementary, $500.

  • Brooke Mendenhall, Michael C Riley Elementary, $263.

  • Ly Nguyen, Michael C Riley Elementary, $470.

  • John Quindlen, Hilton Head Island High, $498.67.

  • Steve Shamblen, Academy for Career Excellence, $500.

  • Yvonne Small, Pritchardville Elementary, $500.

  • Donna Sue Spruce, Red Cedar Elementary, $425.

  • To donate to the teacher grant program, go to the Community Foundation of the Lowcountry's website at, click "Give," then choose "Donate Online" from the drop-down menu. Look for "Choose your fund," and from that drop-down menu, choose "Beaufort County School District Foundation for Educational Excellence Fund."

    Related content:

    Community Foundation of the Lowcountry

    The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

    Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service