Beaufort chamber honors local business leaders

info@islandpacket.comJuly 2, 2012 

Beaufort native Robert DeLoach received the evening's highest honor, the Lifetime of Leadership Award, during the Beaufort Regional Chamber of Commerce's annual meeting and 10th annual Civitas Awards on Friday.

The event, at the Dataw Island clubhouse, included a ceremonial passing of the gavel from outgoing chamber board chairman Jon Rembold to his successor, Frankie Denmark, and an overview of last year's accomplishments by chamber president Blakely Williams.

DeLoach, a longtime mechanical engineer at Parris Island and BES Inc., has volunteered on the board of directors of several local organizations, including Beaufort Academy, the Lady's Island Business Professionals Association and S.C. Social Services.

Other Civitas winners included:

  • Ambassador of the Year, Valerie Althoff.

  • Regional Economic Impact, Technical College of the Lowcountry.

  • Excellence in Free Enterprise, Greenbug.

  • Community Stewardship, Robinson Grant.

  • Outstanding Non-Profit, HELP of Beaufort.

  • Outstanding Leadership Beaufort Alumni, Terry Bennett.

  • Tourism Leadership, Beaufort Water Festival.

  • Outstanding Employee, Androula Weiland, Main Street Beaufort USA.

  • Military Citizenship Award, Bill Severns.

  • Lowcountry Young Professional, Stephen Murray, Kazoobies Inc.

  • Junior Enlisted Service Member of the Year, HM2 Samuel Woodson.

  • Non-commissioned Officer of the Year, Sgt. Ashley Mohr.

  • The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

    Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service