Runoffs in Jasper County set for sheriff, 2 council seats

June 13, 2012 

The winners of Democratic primaries in Jasper County on Tuesday are as follows:

• Sheriff — Runoff between incumbent Gregory Jenkins (42.96%) and Sam Woodward (41.27%). Charles Maestro Mitchell Jr. had 15.77%.

• Clerk of Court — Incumbent Margaret Bostick defeated Raymond Hamilton, 64% to 36%

• County Council, at-large — Runoff between Tom Johnson (39.27%) and incumbent Samuel Gregory (31.73%); winner faces Republican Grady Woods in November. Also, Gary Hodges had 18.96% and Reginald Bush Jr. had 10.04%.

• County Council, Hardeeville Township — Runoff between Barbara Clark (47.27%) and Steve Reaves (26.46%); winner faces Republican Joe Arzillo in November. Andrea Smallwood had 26.27%.

• County Council, Pocotaligo Township — Henry Etheridge defeated James Chisolm, 71% to 29%. Etheridge faces Republican Keith Horton in November.

Runoff elections will be June 26.

For more details, go to

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service