12 honored for business excellence

June 25, 2010 

The Beaufort Regional Chamber of Commerce Visitor & Convention Bureau announced the winners of the 9th annual CIVITAS Awards for Business Excellence.

The winners in each of the 12 CIVITAS categories are chosen by an independent team of volunteer judges.

The winners by category are:

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: Sgt. Charles E. Jackson II

Junior Enlisted Service Member of the Year: Hospitalman Holden J. Roberts

Military Citizen of the Year: Steve Illes

Outstanding Employee of the Year: Corina Altamirano

Outstanding Leadership Beaufort Alumni: Kendall Erickson

Outstanding Young Professional: Huntley Duryea

Outstanding Nonprofit: Literacy Volunteers of the Lowcountry

Community Stewardship: Hargray

Tourism Leadership: Susan Sauer, Discover Tours

Excellence in Free Enterprise: Kazoobie Kazoos

Regional Economic Impact: Beaufort Memorial Hospital

Lifetime of Leadership: Henry Chambers

The Island Packet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service